We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Fried Oysters!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Acme Oyster House

Acme Oyster House
Ranked #84 of 1,932 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Fried Oysters!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had the fried oysters and fried craw-fish tails. We preferred the fried oysters. The bread pudding was fantastic. The gumbo was good but I would have preferred larger shrimp. The seating is first come, first serve and we only had to wait about 20 minutes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,647
    1,958
    773
    218
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best oysters ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Go early! Easy an hour wait by 5 pm. This is a very popular place. Try lunch around 1:30pm. Usually can get right in. The charbroiled oysters are incredible. Soft shelled deep fried crab was good too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pandem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkins, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good service, food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We ate at Acme last week for the first time on recommendation of a tour guide in NOLA. We ordered the gumbo, (pretty good, needed salt), the shrimp poboys, and the shrimp and oyster poboys. The sandwiches each came with French fries, and the portions were fairly large. The bread was fresh and well-toasted and the Tabasco-mayo dressing was great. The shrimp were very small, but they had a crispy crust and there were more than enough for the bun. We loved the oysters as well--very crisp and fresh-tasting, and no grit! Desserts were bananas foster pie (frozen---just okay), the bread pudding (small portion, but my husband really liked it), and the requisite brownie sundae (huge, granddaughter liked it). Our server was pleasant and was just attentive enough. We would certainly go there again, next time we are in the area!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wgwewgwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Oyster shooters for $1.50”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Everyone recommends this place - the line is long, the décor is pretty much nonexistent, the place is small, but the foot was great and not expensive, the atmosphere lively, and staff very friendly. Go here!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karolina516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattlelover317
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Best Food Around!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We heard how good the food was -- and by the line of people outside, well -- everyone had the same idea. The food is very good. We had po-boy sandwiches and crawfish. Check it out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank seattlelover317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acme Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Acme Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing