We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bon Ton Cafe

Bon Ton Cafe
Ranked #72 of 1,919 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Went there with my work team for dinner. Service is excellent. Pat took real good care of us.
And the food is excellent. I had the Redfish Bon Ton ( grilled redfish with crab meat on top) and it was so good!!! Definitely coming back when I am back in town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    462
    221
    71
    29
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Friday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Good food and an old school New Orleans atmosphere. They bring you fresh French bread which is another New Orleans tradition that I am glad to see has not died. The wine list is just right for their menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David_BNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful food! Wonderful staff! Reasonably priced considering the location! I loved this place and will return any time I have the opportunity. You'd have to be pretty nit-picky to find any fault with this place. Our waitress was very helpful and even provided recipes for the bread pudding and the whiskey sauce which is a definite must order. Our water and drink glasses were kept filled without having to ask. Everyone was cheerful and it was a delightful experience. The food was magnificent! We ate at a number of pricier restaurants including on Jackson Square and Bon Ton was the equal to any of them. It was my favorite while we were in New Orleans.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Birthday DInner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Well established restaurant in a good location, with a pleasing decor of old bricks and dark wood. The service was good and the waiter knew all the locals by name, the food was delicious, and the atmosphere was lively. We enjoyed an Etouffee and a Crab au Gratin, along with a very nice bottle of wine. Unfortunately, I did not have room for the large serving of Whiskey Bread Pudding which I saw delivered, along with a happy birthday song, to a table nearby. A $20 error on the bill was quickly corrected and apologies offered. Reservations are recommended as this place fills up between 6:30 pm and 8:30 pm, even on a Monday in March.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan_U778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We loved the food and the ambiance. The service was great. We simply had a great time there. Their bread pudding is to die for. Would go there again in a second. You need to make reservations.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paradoxonparadox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bon Ton Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bon Ton Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing