We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great crawfish etouffee”
Review of Bon Ton Cafe

Bon Ton Cafe
Ranked #66 of 1,946 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great crawfish etouffee”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Went here for lunch hoping that the lunch menu prices would be less expensive then dinner prices but it appears to be the same menu/pricepoint for both. We ordered crawfish etoufee which came with a salad and one side (onion rings, boiled potatoes or vegetable). The house dressing was a creole mustard vinaigrette which was very good and hot french bread was brought to the table. Tried the Rum Ramsey cocktail which is their signature cocktail and was pretty strong but not a favorite. Probably would do the other recommended Bloody Mary next time. This is a nice choice for a meal and the crawfish was plentiful in our entree. Recommend but expect to spend some $$. Service was welcoming and efficient.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank friscotex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    228
    74
    30
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vitri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food and very warm service”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Bon Ton Café is a friendly restaurant with a lot of atmosphere. William, the waiter, was friendly and eager to please. The food was a bit disappointing to me, I had the fried oysters, which I had never tried before and did not happen to like. However, other family members were quite happy with their dishes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vitri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent Food and service”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

New Year Special menu, as apetizer i choose the gumbo: excellent start, folloeed by the entree: Bayou etouffée ,Good crawfish and for desert a bread pudding, especially the whisky sauce. Oberwil or Easy an excellent diner

Helpful?
Thank Claude D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious jambalya and grilled trout”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

My first visit back to New Orleans in 12 years, and my son's first time ever. We came to the Bon Ton with my parents, who are regulars here and the service was friendly, caring and attentive.

Appetizers: mixed plate of fried lobster tails and catfish pieces and bayou jambalaya with lobster tails and shrimp. The fried seafood was very good, but the jambalaya was outstanding...buttery, well seasoned (though not hot at all) and flavorful.

Entrees: we had an eggplant and crabmeat dish, a grilled trout with lemon and butter, a filet with mushroom and wine sauce and an order of fried catfish filets. Again, everything was very good, but the trout was the runaway winner. Beautifully prepared and seasoned and absolutely delicious.

The sides were not good enough to compete with the entrees, and we ignored them.

The table shared two desserts, one bread pudding and one butter pecan ice cream. Both were good. The whiskey saucethat comes on the bread pudding is a nice topping for the ice cream, if you like whiskey sauce.

This building and room are beautiful, old style New Orleans.

Helpful?
Thank sgsterne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good service and excellent crawfish dishes”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Friendly service abounds at Bon Ton Cafe, and I loved all the crawfish entree options! The etouffee was my favorite that I tasted on this trip to New Orleans - it's a roux-less etouffee, which may surprise you but is more traditional than what you find at other local restaurants. We really enjoyed the gumbo here as well. I would happily return here for lunch and dinner on future visits. Note, they're only open on weekdays.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bon Ton Cafe also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Bon Ton Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing