We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice campground.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ponchartrain Landing RV Park and Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Would have liked to get a spot on the lake-that's what we asked for, but I guess they save them for the weekend crowd. That's the only thing that disappointed me. We arrived on Saturday, and stayed 6 days. Got the passport america rate. Nice shuttle to the French quarter at a reasonable price. Parked our travel trailer and only drove one day out to a swamp for an airboat tour. Grocery store nearby was nice. The restaurant food was good and reasonable. We ate there twice. The picture on the website may be what they plan to have, but for now they just have gravel. Can be very dusty, but we still like fresh air over air conditioning. As the others say, it is hard to find, they could use more signage when trying to find France Rd. There was a train blocking the road when we arrived and we wondered if we were in the right spot. It was a great vacation, nice quiet campground, music at the bar, friendly people and they're working to make it bigger and better.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Ponchartrain Landing RV Park and Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 118 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

My family & I needed to blow a night before checking in at our site in Destin, FL (Camp Gulf) so decided to check NOLA off our list. This was our first overnight in our very first new 27' TT and everything went smooth as butter, warm butter! Nice wide roads & turns plus very friendly people who didn't rush anything.
This was super easy to get to off the blower and it's in an industrial area so not only was the road big enough for semi traffic it felt very safe as no one or much of anything was around it except a huge shipyard.
We only stayed one night, but honestly I wish we'd have planned to stay longer to take advantage of everything the park had to offer. I'd love to try kayaking in the beautiful calm channel & take advantage of the nice pool and bar area.
It was surprisingly very quite with no road noise at all which I'm guessing is very hard to come by this close to New Orleans.
The only downfall was all gravel roads and gravel pads, but they we're level and it did have beautiful landscaping in between all the sites...even nice low volt landscape lighting at night!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed at this rv park for 2 months. The management and employees are five stars. Everybody treats you like family. It has a bar, restaurant, pool, hot tub, marina, laundry facilities, dog park, and shuttle. There was plenty of room to park our trailers and vehicles. I felt safe and the park was well taken care of. Would not think twice about staying anywhere else but there when I visit NOLA. We parked our 41ft aspire in the over flow lots and had plenty of room to park our vehicle and relax outdoors and enjoy the picnic tables for lunch and dinners.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days while visiting the area. The campground is large but easy to get around in. We had a premium site by the water. We were right across from the bathroom which was very clean. It would have been nice to have a chair in the bathroom and a place to put your shampoo, conditioner, etc in the shower but the shower and bathroom were very large. The campground has a nice pool, which we did not use because of the cool weather. There is also a nice store with very helpful employees. We used the shuttle to and from the French Quarter. The campground also has a very nice little bar which serves very, very good food. There was music both of the nights that we went to the bar. Very friendly staff. Even though this campground has Wi-Fi - we were too far away to get a good signal but we brought the laptop to the bar/pool area and had no problem there. This would definitely be a place we would stay at again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We had a super premium site facing the water (interpret $$$) which was lovely, peaceful and relaxing. The park has done a good job of plantings in this and most areas which provide a degree of privacy and seclusion in tight quarters. Some sites are actually very tight, however.

We didn't go to the pool area but did on a previous trip, and it was lovely.

We do not like that all interior roads are gravel and dust or gravel and mud. It does not provide good footing for walking.

The access road , France Rd., is in dreadful condition.

I DO NOT LIKE that they charge an "insurance" fee up front which allows the opportunity to cancel vs a cancellation fee for only those who cancel.

We would stay again, however , because it is easy freeway access to the quarter, and a pleasant place, but not if our only choice was to squeeze into the standard slots.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Travelingmelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Clean... safe...gravel roads...dog park for my mutts...grass dog park 50 x100 area...shuttle to french quarter...very good for a visit to Nola...not the kind of place yo spend a vacation... stock up on groceries before you arrive....good Resteraunt for lunch/ dinner....bar and local music Thurs thru sat. They are still building so expect it. Some sites are tight?

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Traveling the south with RV and decided to stay here after some research, not that far from NO with shuttle to and from park. Ground under construction as well as office restaurant etc. location and surroundings are suspect, RV sites are to close to each other, employees are very helpful. Not as good as I expected.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank rockymtns1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
4.6 mi away
Comfort Suites New Orleans
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#110 of 166 in New Orleans
153 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Pontchartrain Hotel
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#4 of 166 in New Orleans
347 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Way Inn & Suites
Best Way Inn & Suites
#150 of 166 in New Orleans
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
Days Inn New Orleans Pontchartra...
#138 of 166 in New Orleans
13 reviews
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Orleans French Quarter
3.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Hotel
Wyndham Garden Hotel
#134 of 166 in New Orleans
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponchartrain Landing RV Park and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponchartrain Landing RV Park and Marina

Address: 6001 France Rd, New Orleans, LA 70126-2522
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 Specialty Lodging in New Orleans
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Ponchartrain Landing RV Park and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing