We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mostly All Great... location, location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ponchartrain Landing RV Park and Marina
Milwaukee'ish, WI
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mostly All Great... location, location, location!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

My family & I needed to blow a night before checking in at our site in Destin, FL (Camp Gulf) so decided to check NOLA off our list. This was our first overnight in our very first new 27' TT and everything went smooth as butter, warm butter! Nice wide roads & turns plus very friendly people who didn't rush anything.
This was super easy to get to off the blower and it's in an industrial area so not only was the road big enough for semi traffic it felt very safe as no one or much of anything was around it except a huge shipyard.
We only stayed one night, but honestly I wish we'd have planned to stay longer to take advantage of everything the park had to offer. I'd love to try kayaking in the beautiful calm channel & take advantage of the nice pool and bar area.
It was surprisingly very quite with no road noise at all which I'm guessing is very hard to come by this close to New Orleans.
The only downfall was all gravel roads and gravel pads, but they we're level and it did have beautiful landscaping in between all the sites...even nice low volt landscape lighting at night!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    37
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
39
41
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed at this rv park for 2 months. The management and employees are five stars. Everybody treats you like family. It has a bar, restaurant, pool, hot tub, marina, laundry facilities, dog park, and shuttle. There was plenty of room to park our trailers and vehicles. I felt safe and the park was well taken care of. Would not think twice about staying anywhere else but there when I visit NOLA. We parked our 41ft aspire in the over flow lots and had plenty of room to park our vehicle and relax outdoors and enjoy the picnic tables for lunch and dinners.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarona, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days while visiting the area. The campground is large but easy to get around in. We had a premium site by the water. We were right across from the bathroom which was very clean. It would have been nice to have a chair in the bathroom and a place to put your shampoo, conditioner, etc in the shower but the shower and bathroom were very large. The campground has a nice pool, which we did not use because of the cool weather. There is also a nice store with very helpful employees. We used the shuttle to and from the French Quarter. The campground also has a very nice little bar which serves very, very good food. There was music both of the nights that we went to the bar. Very friendly staff. Even though this campground has Wi-Fi - we were too far away to get a good signal but we brought the laptop to the bar/pool area and had no problem there. This would definitely be a place we would stay at again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We had a super premium site facing the water (interpret $$$) which was lovely, peaceful and relaxing. The park has done a good job of plantings in this and most areas which provide a degree of privacy and seclusion in tight quarters. Some sites are actually very tight, however.

We didn't go to the pool area but did on a previous trip, and it was lovely.

We do not like that all interior roads are gravel and dust or gravel and mud. It does not provide good footing for walking.

The access road , France Rd., is in dreadful condition.

I DO NOT LIKE that they charge an "insurance" fee up front which allows the opportunity to cancel vs a cancellation fee for only those who cancel.

We would stay again, however , because it is easy freeway access to the quarter, and a pleasant place, but not if our only choice was to squeeze into the standard slots.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelingmelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, North Carolina
Level Contributor
176 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Clean... safe...gravel roads...dog park for my mutts...grass dog park 50 x100 area...shuttle to french quarter...very good for a visit to Nola...not the kind of place yo spend a vacation... stock up on groceries before you arrive....good Resteraunt for lunch/ dinner....bar and local music Thurs thru sat. They are still building so expect it. Some sites are tight?

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Traveling the south with RV and decided to stay here after some research, not that far from NO with shuttle to and from park. Ground under construction as well as office restaurant etc. location and surroundings are suspect, RV sites are to close to each other, employees are very helpful. Not as good as I expected.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rockymtns1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shermans Dale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Looking on the Internet for an RV campground close to New Orleans led me to Ponchartrain Landing. The web site showed a beautiful campus of green grass, paved roads and a large pool. Premium prices were quoted.
The reality is something else entirely.
Ponchartrain Landing is situated along the Inner Harbor Navigation Canal, known locally as the Industrial Canal. During the 2005 Hurricane Katrina, this five-mile long canal could not withstand the storm surge and multiple levees were breached, flooding large portions of the city's 9th Ward.
The result was 12 feet of water flooding the entire area.
A major rebuild is in operation...but the pictures used on the Internet to describe Ponchartrain Landing were taken before Katrina and do not in any way reflect the current state of the place.
There is no pavement; roadways and RV sites are muddy following rains; dusty during dry spells.
Electrical service was excellent at Site 47; water pressure was very good and the water quality was very nice.
The free WiFi service was spotty and could disappear for hours only to be restarted after a phone call to the desk.
Cable TV service was also intermittent. Presumably a rooftop antenna on your coach pointed toward the city would pull in local stations. The service at Ponchartrain Landing is supplied by MeTV, a satellite provider to the campground's cable delivery system. During the time we were here heavy cloud cover and rain-fade caused signal drop outs to the system.
According to the published rules at Ponchartrain Landing, quiet hours begin at 10pm. However, on a Friday night the live band at the bar boomed across the campground until 11:15pm. A phone call to the desk was answered by a male who said quiet hours didn't start until 11. He was not friendly nor sympathetic.
During check-in the front desk people were not particularly friendly.
There are no trash receptacles; trash is picked up at 10am. The dog playground is along the northern perimeter of the campground and does have a trash container for poopie bags.
RV sites are described as "Standard" up to "Presidential." Our "Deluxe Pull-Thru" is said to accommodate up to 80' rigs. Our 43' coach towing a small pickup barely fit.
The "Presidential" site is a honey. It's a "drive-in" facing the canal and is equipped with a barbeque grill and hot tub. It also has a super premium price tag.
Landscaping around the park is nice with plenty of low trees and bushes nestled in a lot of mulch. As I mentioned before, all of this nice landscaping was surrounded by muddy roads and keeping the carpeting clean has been a real job.
Turns are tight for larger coaches and 5th wheels. My site is completely blocked by a car parked in front of a site on the other side of the roadway.
Summing up, the owners are putting a great deal of spin on a work still in progress. Ponchartrain Landing in no way lives up to its advertising, except for its proximity to New Orleans.
The campground operates a shuttle to the French Quarter several times daily at a roundtrip fee of $6. The problem here is that the last shuttle leaves the Quarter at 8pm. So you won't be lingering after an early dinner just as things are getting rev'd up.
The campground is in an industrial area and nothing to do nearby. A Winn-Dixie is a five minute car ride away.
The campground is secured at night behind a coded gate.

Room Tip: The more expensive sites are larger; the most expensive ("Presidential") have water views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tomgauger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Comfort Suites New Orleans
#113 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#53 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn New Orleans Pontchartra...
#141 of 162 in New Orleans
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Super 8 New Orleans
#95 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Motel 6 New Orleans - near downt...
#146 of 162 in New Orleans
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponchartrain Landing RV Park and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponchartrain Landing RV Park and Marina

Property: Ponchartrain Landing RV Park and Marina
Address: 6001 France Rd, New Orleans, LA 70126-2522
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 35 Specialty Lodging in New Orleans
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Ponchartrain Landing RV Park and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing