We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Top Restaurants in New Orleans”
Review of Restaurant Stella - CLOSED

Restaurant Stella
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Stella/99134789750
Description: Intimately located in the French Quarter, at Stella!, Chef Scott Boswell creates exciting New American Cuisine influenced jointly by world flavors and his Louisiana Roots. ~Award Winning Wine List ~Zagat -top ten food in New Orleans ~New Orleans Magazine Best Chef ~DiRona awarded restaurant ~rated 5 Beans by the Times Picayune, New Orleans
Thomasville, GA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the Top Restaurants in New Orleans”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stella's lower ranking on Tripadvisor is not justified. It is too low and they show be ranked at the top. From the advice of one of my most repected dining friends who has eaten at more Michelin starred restaurants than me and then another recommendation from a NOLA large business owner I tried Stella!. Oh how my friends are never wrong. Excellant! Not to be missed. I went on business for dinner. We ordered from the four course menu and then added a course. Almost every course was perfect. I was a little dissappointed in the sweetbreads which I had last at Le Diane in Paris. I will not go to New Orleans and miss dinner there. I see the menu as reasonably priced after just eating at Twist! in Las Vegas where the bill was $1000 for two and not any better than Stella! I would have liked to see a premium wine pairing offered.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomasville_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    67
    54
    38
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stellas! Delivers!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was a wonderful fine dining experience for people who truly care about the food they eat. Like most New American restaurants, portion may be small, but the food at Stellas! shines. There is someone in the kitchen who really cares about combing ingredients to maximize flavor. The staff was knowledgeable and servicewas expert. Special note, the sommelier is thoroughly knowledgeable, and we had a wonderful conversation about wine regions with him. Thanks for a great evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, TX
Level Contributor
106 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Cutting Edge NOLA”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Delicious from start to finish. We chose the 4 course menu with wine pairing and were not disappointed. My first wine pairing was not to my liking. After a taste, the waiter was very quick to bring a more suitable wine for me. The menu is nouveau for New Orleans, but very nice. This was our second visit and we will dine there again. We loved the nitrogen frozen martinis!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrisOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must be your cup of tea”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Unless you are a gourmet you are not going to enjoy this restaurant. Not being a gourmet I could have had 3 much more enjoyable meals for the cost. We opted for the “Chef’s Four Course Prix Fixe” but the problem was there was no choice in the 1st or 2nd courses I wanted to choose. 3rd Course “Roasted Beef Rib Eye” was just fair for this level of dining. I would say the same for 4th Course “Bananas Foster French Toast”. I did enjoy the evening just for the experience but certainly will not repeat it or recommend it to friends without a complete explanation. At a more reasonable price with some mainstream options this would have been fantastic. As it is unless you have a very sophisticated palate or want a very upscale (expensive) unique dining experience skip it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidandKathySt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food can't be good enough to put up with attitude”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Had a confirmed reservation for family event for 8 on a Saturday night. Showed up and they refused to seat us unless we split up on two tables. They had two tables adjoining, but manager refused to push together so we could dine as a group. The more I pushed for them to accommodate our confirmed reservation, the more arrogant they became. Have dined world over, but never encountered such rude and abusive treatment. Don't waste your money here, as they don't care about you and there are so many other great restaurants to chose form in N.O.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank NewYork10022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Stella also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing