We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brand new but spot on!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peche Seafood Grill

Peche Seafood Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Peche Seafood Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 1,918 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Arts District / Warehouse District
Cross street: Julia Strreet
Description: Peche Seafood Grill. In French, "peche" means "catch." Inspired by trips to Spain and Uruguay, Peche will focus on seafood cooked over an open wood fire. Diners can watch as the seafood, along with meats and vegetables, cooks over the flames. The dishes, though, will still be rooted in Louisiana. The restaurant is a partnership between chefs Donald Link (Herbsaint, Cochon), Stephen Stryjewski (Cochon) and Ryan Prewitt, although Prewitt will have primary authority over the new kitchen. Housed in a restored 19th-century building, Peche will share the modern aesthetic of Cochon. According to the Link Restaurant Group, the restaurant will have "high, pickled-wood ceilings; large, soaring windows; a thick-topped Cypress bar; and a marble top oyster bar."
Oakland,California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brand new but spot on!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

A friend sent me an article about places in New Orleans that were serving fish but not in the same old way. Peche has been only opened for four months but really has their act together. Right from the time we entered the restaurant there was a sense of easy going but attentive service.

We decided to sit at the chefs bar and were really glad we did. It was actually a combination oyster bar and pantry(the hot line was opened but not quite as viewable behind that) . There we were entertained( and well fed) by Sam, the master oyster shucker, and Hailey( sp?) pantry chef extraordinaire. We weren't planning to have raw oysters but Sam gave me a sample and I couldn't resist having more. The crab + artichoke fritters were also good.

The star of the meal however was the whole roasted fish. They were out of the redfish but did the the whole grilled sea bass, which was supposed to be covered in sautéed cabbage, in the same style with a simple fresh herby salsa verde at our request. It was large but we picked the bones clean. Yum!

We don't usually have dessert but watching Hailey make the luscious offerings all night we couldn't resist trying one. The peach crisp with cinnamon ice cream was good but I wish I had tried the chocolate, banana and peanut butter pie.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank asonabend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    909
    358
    100
    35
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blown away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and I travel a lot and eat out a lot, but I rarely write reviews unless I have something good to say. This restaurant was fabulous. We ate there for lunch and our party of 5 shared a number of different items. The raw bar dishes were all excellent, but I was especially blown away by the catfish with spicy pickled greens. NOLA has many good restaurants, and this one is worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wood grilled whole fish!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We made reservations on Open Table based on reviews we'd read online. Peche is a fairly new restaurant in a warehouse space on Magazine, very trendy feeling. Of course, that usually translates to LOUD! and Peche did not disappoint in that area. Despite the noise, we really enjoyed our meal here. We had the whole grilled lane snapper with a corn and jalapeño sauce. Yum! Apps were fun, a crab and artichoke fritter being the star, and the salad with bitter greens and feta was a perfect counterpoint to the fried apps. The very friendly couple at the next table was having the whole grilled black drum with salsa verde, which looked every bit as good as our snapper! And the couple on the other side ordered all small plates and raved about the capellini with chili and crab. Service was team-style, which allowed our team of two servers to efficiently service several large tables, along with a number of smaller tables. Good energy, good food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pcsullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best meal in we had New Orleans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful dinner for our bride to be on a bachelorette party in New Orleans from San Francisco.
Just let the server know what appeals to you and relax and let Chef Prewitt do what he does so well. Great space bursting with energey. If you want something new and unpredictable with a great wine list, service, atmosphere and awesome food this is the place. Whole Fish, smoked tuna and minted crab claws were my favorites.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JSWINES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Johns, Antigua
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peche Seafood Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were recommended this place by a couple of friends who live in New Orleans and by the barmaid at a bar we happened to drop into for a refresher. So we made a res for 8:00 one evening, arrived early intending to have a drink at the bar but were offered a table straight away which we accepted. Must say the noise in this place is tremendous, the walls do not absord anything at all so it's just a cacophony of noise all around. We ordered drinks and a very friendly waitress explained the menu, specials etc. I had LA oysters as one appetizer and a tuna/peach/coriander thing as a second, both were delicious, the oysters especially, very fresh. My partner had a plate of local Gulf shrimp, again delicious. We shared a whole fish for our main course which was cooked to perfection, no complaints. A plus here is the attentiveness of the staff, no waiting for drinks, 2 or 3 staff are watching all the time, plates & dishes are removed very professionally. Dessert was great, home made chocolate ice cream, melted, lovely. All in all we had a great time, the only negative (which lost them points) was when the waitress dropped our check on the table without asking if we were finished or wanted anything else, in fact she didn't say anything, just literally dropped the wallet on the table, that was very unprofessional.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hawkeye3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peche Seafood Grill also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Peche Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing