We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent!”

Besh Steakhouse at Harrah's
Reserve with OpenTable
Besh Steakhouse at Harrah's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #250 of 1,955 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Corner of South Peters and Poydras
Description: In its dazzling contemporary setting among the bold iconic canvases of George Rodrigue’s Blue Dog, Besh Steak is not your traditional steakhouse. 150 rich brown leather seats, some in private curtained booths, are set among crystal puddles of azure blue. A sleek, backlit wall of wine bottles is flanked by a glowing amber bar and an open brushed-silver kitchen. High-rolling guests and food critics alike will be swept away with the cool dining grandeur at Besh Steak in Harrah's New Orleans. Please note that you and your party must be 21 years or older to enter. The restaurant melds Chef John Besh's devotion to local Louisiana ingredients and techniques with traditional steakhouse menu items. Wine and spirits are also an integral part of the dining experience at Besh Steak, with hand-selected cellar choices to accompany each dish.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Magnificent!”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We went for my birthday and we were seated at an intimate table with curtains to block the noise from the rest of the restaurant. The service was excellent and the food was absolutely delicious. When we were ready to leave the server asked us to wait a minute and she came out with two chocolate truffles with the words "Happy Birthday" spelled out in chocolate sauce. Just a wonderful classy touch on a perfect birthday dinner celebration!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crusinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    123
    55
    33
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Bern
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“LAMB CHOPS TO DIE FOR”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

excellent 'quality, above average presentation. service above average and worth the pricyness. i eat here every visit to n.o. and im never dissapointed

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peterkut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Besh Steak - A Must Everytime for Us!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Appetizer: Besh Barbequed Shrimp $20
Entrees: 14oz Cast-Iron Ribeye with peppercorn sauce and fries $28
Broiled Tournedos of Beef topped with jumbo lump crabmeat, comes with summer vegetable maque chous $36

Our visits to Harrah's New Orleans would not be complete without dining at Besh Steak. On our most recent trip (July 15 - 17) we chose the above selections. We ordered our beef medium rare and it was cooked and seasoned to absolute perfection and so tender, it did not require a knife! The fries that came with the Ribeye went to waste, we were slightly full after the shared appetizer of barbequed shrimp and the complimentary pate' and bread that comes out before your meal arrives. Next time, we will ask to substitute the fries for another side.

Everything we have ever ordered at Besh is absolutely delicious, we have dined there now 8 times. My personal favorites from the Appetizer selections are the Roasted P&J "Oysters Casino" with bacon, parmesan, garlic and parsley and the Barbequed Shrimp (6 good sized) that comes in a big bowl with plenty of peppery dipping sauce and small pieces of grilled bread.

We have never ordered any of the soups, but they look very yummy! The salad I ordered in the past was unremarkable compared to all the other wonderful menu choices. Being a creature of habit or just knowing what I like, we can't go into Besh Steak without ordering those Besh Barbequed Shrimp, it just starts off the meal in a perfect way, and warning in advance, they are so very addictive! :)

Service is top notch, Staff only scoot in and out when they see You have finished one dish to remove the plates, and to top off your drinks. From the greeters to the waiters, everyone is professional and friendly. We always make a reservation on Open Table and request a quiet booth and it has been granted each time.

Everything we have ever ordered From the Gulf and From the Farm selections have been delightful, we are always pleased, therefore, always return. However, I think we finally mastered our personal favorites which are listed above.

Thank You again Chef John Besh and Besh Steak for a most enjoyable meal and evening, we look forward to dining with You again in the near future!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolinaSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
396 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Good Food - Poor Service”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

My husband, daughter and I went to Besh Steak for appetizers while taking a break from playing at Harrah's Casino. It was 5:00 pm and the restaurant had just opened, and we were the only customers at the bar. The bartender seemed more interested in talking to two of the wait staff than taking care of us. We ordered drinks and appetizers of Meat Pies, Stuffed Crab Shells, and Fried Oysters. My husband and daughter received their food before mine, which came out about five minutes later. When I received my oysters, I asked for tartar sauce. It didn't come, so I asked again and was told they were making it. Ok. They sent out hot bread which was wonderful, as were the appetizers. The food isn't the problem, it's the wait staff. My daughter sat with an empty drink glass in front of her for 30 minutes without being asked, and never was asked, if she wanted another one. We were the only ones at the bar. Three drinks and three appetizers $68.59 before tip.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank pletzkeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Suprisingly Great Meal in New Orleans”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We went to Besh Steakhouse, not knowing what to expect. Very professional wait staff. Great wine list. The salad with their version of a French dressing (not the kind you're thinking!) was amazingly good. The wedge salad was also excellent. The dining room is very pleasant, with plenty of space between tables. You would not know you were in a casino, as the restaurant is nicely insulated from the casino activity. The ribeye steak was one of the best I have ever had. It was cooked perfectly and the taste was fantastic. The side of fries was also delicious. The entire staff was great... very attentive and charming. We ate at many restaurants in New Orleans, including the famous ones, and though suprising, at least to me, this was probably the best of them all!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jldjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Besh Steakhouse at Harrah's also viewed

 

Been to Besh Steakhouse at Harrah's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing