We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak & chilli fries”
Review of Turtle Bay

Turtle Bay
Ranked #353 of 1,954 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: Closed due to damage sustained in Hurricane Katrina.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great steak & chilli fries”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is our second trip to NOLA and the second time we have enjoyed Turtle Bay. This review is the one on Decatur (the Bourbon street one has changed it's name). We love it - a little out of the way across from the Market, so not too crowded. The bar staff are fun, especially Rebecca & Brad.

After 3 weeks travelling the US we were sick and tired of overwhelming portions of food purporting to be fine dining (I guess the british approach to this is a little different, I have never been so overfaced) so this was an oasis of simplicity for us. It's bar food - having said that we really enjoyed the steak (a bargain!) and the pulled pork potatoes. Pizza was pretty good too....

There is a huge choice of draft beers (though we are bemused about the fact everyone drinks Newcastle Brown in the US!) which my husband enjoyed working through. Not Michelin starred dining, but delicious pub grub and in friendly surroundings.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DickBarton67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    53
    13
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“BBQ Chicken Pizza”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The BBQ Chicken pizza can be very good here. Although every time we go it is completely different ranging from not great, too much honey, to not enuf BBQ sauce to completely burnt. However once in a while they blow us away with amazing pizza, which is why we will go there every few months. I enjoy the atmosphere when it isnt too busy or during the day. Draft beer selection was good and frozen drinks look good. On our last visit there was a couple arguing quietly at the bar, until she cried and stomped out.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janesays_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
497 reviews
383 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great Place to Watch a Game and Have a Beer”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stopped in due to a recommendation by a shop owner in the area and were not disappointed. We had eaten great food all week and wanted simply a good hamburger. Turtle Bay was the place! There was a college game we wanted to catch that evening also and they had lots of TVs. Our waitress was excellent. Very friendly and made you feel at home. We had Burgers with Baked Potato potato salad. Excellent! The only issue we had was the kitchen was either very slow or lost our order. Our waitress brought it up and was very apologetic. She got us some chips and salsa to hold us over until the meal came. It was very good. I would go again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wano16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, PA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice, down to earth bar”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I am not a drinker but I really like this bar; the bartenders are always nice, it isn't crazy crowded or loud, the are no strippers hanging out in the front door...just a cool bar.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoBoilers96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food... Great Times!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

We always stop here during football season in New Orleans!! We Love Turtle Bay! They have a big screen with games on all day! Potato Skins & Steaks are amazing. Loaded nachoes were just ok!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ash0926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Bay also viewed

 

Been to Turtle Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing