We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This restaurant was awesome!”
Review of Liborio's Cuban Restaurant - CLOSED

Liborio's Cuban Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Cuban, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Closed due to damage sustained in Hurricane Katrina.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This restaurant was awesome!”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

As authentic as I imagine they come. I had the cuban steak with plantains, and we all shared a pitcher of sangria. The manager/server was very polite and explained to us the menu items. Being so close to our hotel (next door to the Country Inn and Suites) it was a perfect option.

Clean, fast, polite, and delicious!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TeamGumz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    12
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not Good!”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We have eaten Cuban food many times before and had high expectations when we ordered our Cuban sandwiches. They were a big disappointment. The meats were dry and the taste was lacking. Also, the service was very slow.

We would not go back.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Herb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax County, VA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Maybe a (Really!) Bad Night”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is a restaurant we had tried to visit several times on previous trips to N.O. but have never made it when they were open. They are open for lunch, close for a while and only open for dinner certain nights. We caught them open for business night before last.

Well, open for business overstates things. Almost an hour after they opened, there was only one staff person on site. It's not clear exactly what he was -- he said he helped the cook but looked more like a janitor/dishwasher. No cook, no bartender, no waiter.

The janitor tried to make a mojito but clearly didn't know what it was (looked it up in a bartender's guide) or what it was supposed to look like. Instead of a sprig of mint, it had mint crushed and added to the drink.

Eventually a cook showed up as well as a waiter/bartender. My second mojito was much better and my wife's caipirinha was okay but wouldn't pass muster in Brazil.

My wife ordered arroz con pollo, which she liked a lot (she makes a great arroz con pollo herself). I had Liborio steak, which is supposed to be a flank steak but in reality was a gristly minute steak that had been run through a tenderizer. What wasn't gristle was pretty good. The sides of black beans and rice and fried plaintain were quite good.

We may go again sometime -- maybe next trip. No place in New Orleans can be consistently that bad and remain in business.

Also, it seems lunch is a busier and maybe better time to visit. We were the only seated customers the entire time we were there. One customer came in, picked up something and left.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UmpChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Try the Mojitos”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Authentic Cuban, the old man is a little slow but who cares when the mojitos taste so good

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank FreespiritOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
183 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good food, amazing history”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our dinner at this restaurant, where he ordered the steak and I the paella. The food was delicious, particularly the fried sweet plantains. What we enjoyed most , however, was talking with the owner, who told us of coming to the United States in the 1950s. He started out working at a minimum wage job, learned to weld and worked in a shipyard, and finally bought a restaurant. He proudly proclaims, "I'm not Cuban--I'm an American."

The Friday night we visited, there were only two other tables filled. What a pity that tourists haven't found this quiet oasis in an otherwise noisy city!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jvcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liborio's Cuban Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing