We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, food and service”
Review of Atchafalaya

Atchafalaya
Reserve with OpenTable
Atchafalaya is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 1,963 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Garden District
Cross street: Laural Street
Transit: Magazine Street and Louisiana Ave, Louisiana Ave and Tchoupitoulas Bus Stops.
PA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, food and service”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The only disappointment of the night was having to wait 30 for our reserved table. I do understand that it was a very busy weekend (graduations) and we were a large party. We did enjoy having a cocktail in the bar while we waited. The bartender was friendly and very helpful. I love the setting of the restaurant, from the location in a neighborhood of homes to the lighting and decor. Our server was very efficient and knew the menu. Our food was fabulous! Try the goat cheese salad as well as the fried green tomatoes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mittens5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    590
    184
    45
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average to poor”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

The food was ok and the service matched. Too many other great places to eat to spend the money here. Dont waste your time. The service was slow.

Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
boston
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Still dreaming of the duck po-boy....”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Wow, what an amazing meal we had here! After a walking tour of the Garden District, we went for lunch (had made a reservation on OpenTable). it was pretty dressy, which surprised me a little for lunch, (appeared to be a lot of business people and a lot of folks in town for familiy get togethers for Tulane graduation).

Had a wonderfully refreshing Pimm's cup, the cucumbers muddled so the flavor really came through, and hubby had the Isabelle, I tasted it and love the bitter Campari. We each ordered the prix fixe lunch for $20, a truly excellent value. Loved the jalapeno cornbread mini muffins to start.

Oh my goodness, where to start. I had seafood gumbo, with just the right amount of kick to it, and hubby had oyster rockefeller soup, garnished with a fried oyster. The duck po-boy was just so delicious, it had mango and blackberries and a bacon vinaigrette. Sweet, savory,,,utterly outrageous and delicious. The duck was so tender, and the fruit complemented it so well. The bread was nice and soft. On the side were homemade potato chips. Hubby had the free form crab ravioli, which he enjoyed.

For dessert red velvet cake and bread pudding- out of this world. Serving sizes were generous, and the total was $51.00 including coffee and tax (but not the drinks which we got at the bar). The quality of the food was really outstanding, service was excellent, the hostess, bartender and server were all very friendly and professional. The decor was lovely as well, the color scheme is soothing yet it has a funky vibe to it too.

You can walk to Magazine Street after to get your shopping on too!

With so many places to choose from and try in New Orleans, it is hard to say one would go back to a restaurant a second time, but I will definitely come back here again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationerBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous Y'all!!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I was here for Tulane graduation and we went here for a family dinner. Have eaten at great restaurants all over the world. This one was fabulous!!!.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Another Garden find”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

A charming home made into a resturaunt. you enter to a interesting room , bar on the left , beautiful old wood pub style. Very nice bartenders, two lovely ladies. The materdie was very attentive. my husband ate the fish special that was good, however there was alot going on. My son had the red fish he says it was awesome. Great sauce! I had the shrimp and grits that were very good, served with the heads on. I will for sure try it again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trimom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atchafalaya also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Atchafalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing