We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food and wonderful mission”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Reconcile

Cafe Reconcile
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Reconcile is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #345 of 1,932 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing food and wonderful mission”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I love the whole concept behind Cafe Reconcile, and now that I've gone once, I will go every time I visit New Orleans. The food was absolutely delicious! I have never had baked chicken so tasty and moist; the skin was crispy and the meat was cooked to perfection. The garlic mashed potatoes and the green beans were fantastic and the portions were generous. My friend and I shared the bananas foster bread pudding, which was plenty for the two of us. It was wonderful!! Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnetteTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    23
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No better way to spend money on an authentic Nawlins meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

You will read several reviews on a myriad of places to dine during your stay in NOLA, but you will not have a more authentic and delicious meal. Compound this with the fact that your dollars go to support a very worthwhile cause-training at risk young people in the food and service industry, as they serve you and help prepare the very food you're eating-this is a must do!
The food is very tasty, and don't leave without having their award-winning Bananas Foster bread pudding!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SLKtravels61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Great Meal for a Great Cause”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for authentic soul food, this place serves up some of the best. The restaurant is staffed by inner city youth and is designed to teach entrepreneurial skills, so you may find service a tad overly exaggerated. But, everyone is trying so hard to be helpful that you can easily forgive the interruptions.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank customized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were so impressed with the oysters the Cafe served at their booth at the Oyster Festival, we went to the Cafe for lunch. Their mashed sweet potatoes and desserts were delicious.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 11nancy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go...and tip big!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Great work being done here in a restaurant whose atmosphere, service and food rivals any we've had in NOLA during the last 20 years. If you love this city and it's people...don't miss Cafe Reconcile!

Helpful?
Thank NessaBea
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Reconcile also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Cafe Reconcile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing