We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good prices”
Review of Somethin' Else Cafe - CLOSED

Somethin' Else Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, good prices”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I had the fried shrimp and it was great. They have daily specials and the prices are reasonable. Don't forget to ask for a hot chocolate with baileys (if over 21), very yummy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katis1621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    79
    24
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT PO BOYS”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Potluck (Debris) wonderful and huge! Have shrimp burger which others in party raved about. Have soft shell po boy too! Breakfasts are supposed to be incredible - too crowded - we didn't wait. Coffee needs help but did warm me up.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank summerpopsicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Arkansas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very, Very Good - But I can't say excellent.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Something Else is very, very good - I just think I expected a little more. Service was outstanding. The others in my party loved their entrees. Mine was good but I should have gotten something other than a salad. It was a little on the boring side. Get a burger or something more creative. Worth the trip if you want a good meal without the tourist schtick.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ejchron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
152 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great spot, great food!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went to Somethin' Else Cafe for our last meal in New Orleans just over a week ago. We were there for lunch. We had spotted the restaurant because one of the sides of the building is the narrow Exchange Place street/alley (which we thought was great and away from noise) where they had tables outside with umbrellas. I really wanted to eat outside for lunch so we looked at the menu and we decided to eat there. We also looked at the Green Goddess further down Exchange Place but chose this restaurant.

Our waiter was definitely unique but very good at what he does. When he came to talk to us and greet us he asked what we wanted to drink and suggested the Hurricane as they make it with real juices there and is apparently really good compare to other restaurants. He looked at the table next to us where the woman at the table had ordered a Hurricane and was sipping and it he asked her if it was good and she said that it was really good. He said he would bring me a sample to try and he did. I tried it, liked it and ordered it.

When it came time to choose what to eat he did have suggestions. I decided to go with what he recommended - the shrimp burger. Again he asked a table not too far from us where several people had ordered the shrimp burger to let him know how it was and they all said it was good. So I ordered it and enjoyed it as well. I had never had a shrimp burger. My husband had seafgood gumbo I believe and he liked his dish too.

It was definitely an experience to eat there! The waiter was prompt and helpful and we enjoyed the outside seating under the umbrella.

The prices are reasonable. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NatC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, appalling service.”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The food here is a knockout, and I'd expect nothing less from a French Quarter cafe. We went for dinner one night and breakfast the following morning. On both visits, with two different servers, the service was absolutely abysmal. Neither waitress bothered to check on us, we had to ask for water no less than 3 times, 3 separate dishes had to be sent back because the waitress took the order wrong, and one dish was cold. When I asked the waitress to take care of it, she got an attitude and told me the dish had just come up and should be warm. The restaurant didn't offer any kind of compensation for our unpleasant experience. I'd recommend the food to go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dhammett921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Somethin' Else Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing