We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Famous, but should be”
Review of Martinique Bistro - CLOSED

Martinique Bistro
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Uptown / Carrollton
Cross street: Eleonore
Transit: We are located one block from the Nashville bus stop and nine blocks from the Nashville streetcar stop.
gulfcoast florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not Famous, but should be”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Recently ate at Martinique during restaurant week. I had a shrimp preparation that was excellent. Martinique is in an old house, very charming, and the ourdoor space is perfect, weather permitting. Their staff is knowledgeable and polite, and I often return to this excellent restaurant. Fame hasn't really touched it yet, and they are an excellent choice for New Orleans.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stjoesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    10
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little Slice of Paris on Magazine Street”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Recently moved back to Uptown New Orleans and we are 3 blocks from Martinique Bistro on Magazine Street. Had friends in from out of town and wanted to do a nice dinner, but easy. So, walked to the Restaurant and was delighted with the entire experience. Great Ambiance, Great Menu selections, Excellent Wine list. Good prices. Portions a wee bit too small for me, but I am 6'4". What was served is delicious, I had the scallops. I asked fellow diners around the small intimate dining room what they were having so I could get an idea what to order next time - like all New Orleanians, people were happy to share. A number of people from Metairie who do the long drive for the food. Kevin Costner came in that night to dine ~ surprise. One thing - the bread - need to do something about the bread. Why do some great restaurants always have just basic bread with cold butter - need to bump that up for perfect in my book

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dbrockhoeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great food and a great patio”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The specials are fantastic and the patio is beautiful on cool nights. We have been several times and never a disappointment. Great fish dishes and salads. It is very hard to park in this area, so a cab may be a better idea.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bayoudularge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mixed Experience”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife & I ate there recently for the first time, and liked it well enough to try it again. We ate outside in the garden-like patio, which is covered and filled with live plants - a lovely setting. The service was good, as was most of the food. Their seafood gumbo was tasty. My wife had the shrimp and vermicelli with mango squash, which was a heavenly dish. I had a salad and the fish special, which was grilled black drum - a lovely, firm white fish. Both came covered with sunflower sprouts, which I didn't care for, and I found the fish rather tasteless.
The young waiter was inexperienced, but attentive, and the hostess/manager(?) checked on us.
We'll probably visit again sometime when we are in New Orleans, because we really liked the atmosphere and my wife's food was delicious. I may have been unduly influenced by the sunflower sprouts.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Neck, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Food was inventive, delicious. Service impeccable. Garden setting beautiful. Wine list lovely. I highly recommend this restaurant, which is not a tourist trap. You get a lovely meal in an inviting ambiance.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CMW1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martinique Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing