We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“food was good, but annoying policies made it an unpleasant experience”

Pascal's Manale Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Pascal's Manale Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #122 of 1,933 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Uptown / Carrollton
Transit: You may hop on the St. Charles Avenue streetcar to Napoleon -- it's a few blocks away (stop #24 three blocks south of restaurant).
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“food was good, but annoying policies made it an unpleasant experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The food was good, although not great. Bar-b-q shrimp are very good. The oysters less so. But there were annoying policies which made the experience unpleasant. First, there were three people late out of our group of 22. So no one could be seated until the last three people arrived. Then the waitress wanted to say the menu specials once for the entire three tables. She yelled, but because we were spread out and because of everyone else in the restaurant, many couldn't hear anyway. Next, the Cokes didn't have free refills. It didn't say this anywhere on the menu. Since they were served in small glasses with a lot of ice, each of my kids ended up ordering $7.50 worth of Coke. We would have done something different with warning. Overall, fine, historic, probably won't go back

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    157
    74
    31
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kearny, New Jersey
Level Contributor
318 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Barbeque shrimp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were in a large party of 16 and they accommodated us very well. they gave us a table for all of us and then they were even willing to give us separate checks. Most members of the party ordered the barbeque shrimp and no one was disappointed! I know we ordered other entrees but, l don't know what they were. We also ordered the shrimp Remoulade and it was very good also! The tab was reasonable and everyone was very satisfied!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fheagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
165 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A New Orleans Tradition - Don't Miss!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I used to go to Pascal's in the 70's. Loved it - first bar-b-cued shrimp I ever ate. Took my kids to Pascal's for lunch. It was (is) still delightful - turtle soup, seafood gumbo - excellent. Service impeccable - old south (asked my son to remove his hat -- good for them). Sorry we were not there for supper. Never the less, if in New Orleans - take the Charles Street trolley out to Pascal's and enjoy traditional NOLA cooking, service and ambiance.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmigoJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florissant, Missouri
Level Contributor
231 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“great seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you like oysters, get some from the oyster bar! Their schucker is skilled and entertaining too! I started with cream of crab and asparagus soup, which was very tasty. My sister had BBQ shrimp. She said they were good, but it wasn't what she was expecting -- it was a pound of giant gulf shrimp in BBQ sauce (the kind you peel and eat)!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
210 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“The Great Food Trumped Our Obnoxious Waiter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

When it's a contest between great food and irritating waiters, the food almost always wins. That was our recent experience at Pascal's Manale, where the array of delectable courses tipped the scales in favor of a great experience. if the rating was based purely on food, it would be 5-star.

If my rating was based on the waiter, it would have been one/half of a star. There was a barely concealed belligerence in this thirtyish waiter that could not be ignored. His coup de grace was making a big deal of cleaning up the debris left by our one-year-old granddaughter under her high chair. Yes, she left a mess. Yes, one-year-olds tend to do that. Yes, it needed to be cleaned up. But no, it should not be cleaned up while we're still in the middle of our meal, laughing, drinking expensive wine, spending money. It was incredible that someone who depends on the generosity of strangers should be so intent on diminishing his tip. I was very tempted to make a big deal of it at the time but did not because I did not want to embarrass my family and ruin an otherwise great meal.

When the cooks in the kitchen are striving mightily to create extraordinary experiences, it is unforgiveable for servers to undermine and diminish the results through their lack of care. The manager of Pascal's Manale needs to nip this cancer in the bud.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pascal's Manale Restaurant also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Pascal's Manale Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing