We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Green Beans and Marinara Sauce” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandina's

Mandina's
Ranked #73 of 1,919 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Green Beans and Marinara Sauce”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you're going to an Italian restaurant the marinara sauce must be delicious and so it was at Mandina's. It seems to be a tad bit pricey, even though we were there for lunch, but someone has to pay for the linen table cloths. In addition to the great sauce there green beans was out of this world amazing. I don't recall having beans that good and in such an unexpected place as I do not associate Italian cooking with green beans. If you are in Mid-City stop by Mandina's and have a bite.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SpiceRiceDice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    231
    68
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch & Dinner spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Fabulous lunch specials, I got half po boy and cup gumbo and their remoulade sauce is soooo awesome. great prices super food friendly good service-love thie neighborhood joint

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelhappy1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Mississippi
Level Contributor
246 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The "locals" special place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a late lunch here after seeing the Art Museum. The atmosphere were friendly and joyous, the wait staff enthusiastic and fast. We had a crab and shrimp remoulade salad and French bread...leaving us with plenty of room for bread pudding!!! A delightful "taste of New Orleans"!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BeBe53207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Huge portions!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The food here was good but the portions were just enormous! Nobody at my table even came close to finishing what they ate. The atmosphere is very relaxed and familial. Do be prepared to get a cab (or the street car) there and home. The area is not necessarily safe to wander around in. There was a policeman posted on a stool outside the night we were there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sogormande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Mandina's is the first place we hit when coming into town. Unfortunately, the last few times have been disappointing. Poor service and lack luster food is becoming a trend. Mandina's still has the best soup... Oyster and artichoke. Hope the rest turns around.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chadsaeswt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandina's also viewed

 

Been to Mandina's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing