We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost Like Cruise Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mat & Naddie's Cafe

Mat & Naddie's Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Mat & Naddie's Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #502 of 1,919 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Uptown / Carrollton
Cross street: Freret Street and Leake Ave
Transit: Take the St Charles/Carrollton Streetcar to the Freret Street Stop. We're five blocks toward the River.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Almost Like Cruise Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

When my wife and I travel, we always use the Lonely Planet Guide to whichever city we go. We have never been steered wrongly by Lonely Planet when they recommend places to eat. However, we feel this may be the one exception. According to LP, if there was only one place in NOLA to take close friends or family to eat, Mat & Naddie's would be it. So, naturally, my wife and I decided we would give it a shot.

When we arrived, we found the restaurant to be rather charming and cozy. The whole place smelled wonderfully, which we believed was a sign of good things to come. When we sat down at our table and ordered our meals, we waited with much anticipation for our food. However, we were a bit disappointed, let down even, when it arrived. With all the wonderful presentation, we expected the food to be out of this world. Instead, we found it to be almost like food one would eat on a cruise ship. It was not altogether awful, but for the money we shelled out, we were expecting to be blown away. That was not the case.

The service was fantastic, and the wines that accompanied the meal were very good, as well. I'll add one caveat to this review by admitting that I did ask my wife if we have become "food snobs" because we've experienced so many wonderful restaurants with great food. He response to me was that there was once a time when we would have been satisfied with Shoney's food.

Basically, the food was decent, but not what we were expecting. Maybe I should blame LP instead.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaTraveler910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    20
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

Went here on date night and couldn't have chosen a better place. I got the lamb with polenta and rapini- it was by far the best lamb I've ever had. My fiancee ended up loving his filet mignon with rosemary potatoes. The hot french bread they served before dinner was delicious and the mixed drinks were strong and very good. The atmosphere is cozy and perfect for a date. Although it was a bit pricey- $22-29 an entree, you get a lot of food and it was well worth it. Would definately go here again!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kkitty36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thoughtful food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We read that this place had great vegetarian options and we were not let down. Our food was all fresh, creative and flavorful. There were many great choices for vegetarians and meat eaters on the menu - all looked great. . The service was great but I will note that the two floor staffers seemed to be running to deal with the full house. A good wine selection rounded out the experience.

This place is just down the road from the maple leaf so you can check out a good live act after you dine.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BoonieWills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heaven on the Bayou”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Amazing little restaurant offering a variety of wonderful small plates and of course full entrees. We each had the special "pick 3 appetizers plus a glass of wine." Each appetizer was a mini-meal in itself - mini because it was just the right size for a genrous appetizer and meal because each was of such high quality we would have gladly had only it! Lovely outdoor deck. Only possible criticism was that the food came slowly - for us hat was perfect because we actually had time to savor each bite and plate. But if you are looking for "fast food" (which you shouldn't be at a place like this) you may want to discuss your choices with the wait-staff

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dbf1dbf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

There was a different assortment of food. It was really good. Wish they had a little more in the way of beer selection. Of course you don't necessarily go to a place like this and have beer. The hostess could have been a little more cordial, not the friendliest. The dining room was somewhat loud. A lot of conversation going on in a small space. I recommend requesting a patio table. Overall it was a pleasant dining experience.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 64galaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mat & Naddie's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mat & Naddie's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing