We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid food”

Galatoire's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Galatoire's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #108 of 1,933 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Iberville
New York, NY
Level Contributor
91 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Solid food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was my second visit to Galatoires and the food didn't disappoint. Still love the gumbo and the crawfish étouffée. Waitstaff was a bit delayed and disorganized, but they were incredibly kind and generous, and made up for it with a ton of extra food freebies for our table. Still worth a visit, especially for the fun people watching.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RoamingMenehune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    867
    347
    177
    83
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
427 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Never had a bad meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Every trip I take to New Orleans includes a trip to Galatoire's. While pricey, it is worth every penny. Many of the waiters have been employed at this restaurant for many years. My favorite, Charlie is requested every time. My most recent visit was last week and we toasted a good friend's retirement. Charlie took the best care of us and made our guest of honor feel special. The food is outstanding and the service equal. If you want to see some southern charm and classy looking ladies, Galatoire's needs to be on your bucket list. Men bring a sport coat. Everything is great about Galatoire's.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
208 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“All butter and garlic still can't mask terrible cooking”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Wow, was this ever a rip-off. The seafood dishes were drowned in sauces of butter and cream and we actually felt sick after. It was loud with pretentious waiters from up north. Really? How inauthentic. We had a crab dish and a redfish with crawfish dinner. Despite the price, we left half of it on the plate as inedible. Save your money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelswithmyTeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Been there twice with my husband and family.its a family favorite when were in town. The staff was very attentive to our needs. We never had bad meal there so i have no clue why the lady above me would write one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Navywifey129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Old New Orleans Style Atmosphere and Awesome Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Perfect old french quarter atmosphere, service and food!!!! Highly recommend sitting downstairs for the "best" history, people watching and atmosphere.
Pros: classic old french quarter service and food, atmosphere, regulars ask for same waiters, expansive menu for any taste, awesome original but basic desserts
Cons: no reservations accepted for downstairs( but that's ok), tables are invasively close to one another, we only get to eat there one or two times a year

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelWarriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galatoire's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Galatoire's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing