We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dinner, good service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galatoire's Restaurant

Galatoire's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Galatoire's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #109 of 1,919 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Iberville
California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great dinner, good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

A large group of us ate there during a family reunion in November. We chose it because it was an older, traditional New Orleans restaurant, and we liked the menu choices. We ate upstairs in a room with a couple of other large groups. The service was excellent and the food was great. I had the salmon with Meuniére Amandine sauce, and it was outstanding; the wine, vegetables and appetizers were good also. In the interests of full disclosure, I have to say that a couple of people in the group were unhappy: one of my brothers didn't like his shrimp, and another didn't like the way his steak was cooked (though when he asked, they did put it back and cook it a little more). Also, they do require jackets for men, which caused a minor panic among some of the younger men in the family, so be prepared. Except for that, I thoroughly enjoyed the meal, and would be happy to go back again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JaneT013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    840
    340
    174
    81
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Our only dinner in the city - happy we chose here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We were only in the city for a night. A few friends recommended the restaurant. We weren't able to get reservations, but we went on the earlier side and were able to get a table for 2 without a wait.

Food was great. I'm a picky eater & would definitely come back. Service was wonderful. Nothing bad to say at all

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chris917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Get your hat on!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Went for a birthday celebration and wanted a table for 20 downstairs Friday lunch. What does that mean.? Someone has to start queuing around 7 am. Sounds mean but apparently people pay the homeless to camp out for them and secure a spot. Seems to be quite an organised business! Anyway what a place. I thought there must be a wedding going on as all the ladies were wearing wedding style clothes and hats and the men were dressed to the max. Such a party atmosphere. Just get the waiter to bring all sorts of platters of sharing food. Totally delicious from oysters Rockefeller, crayfish etc etc. the staff are fantastic and have been there for hundreds of years! You have to visit it if you head to NOLA

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leedsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
328 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food - lots of character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

After many years of living near New Orleans, I finally tried Galatoire's. I went for lunch and had the Shrimp Au Vin and it was divine!! My friend had the trout and it was also delicious. I don't usually eat potatoes but my friend insisted we try the potato souffle - delicious light puffed up gourmet fries . Service is great in this historic Bourbon Street restaurant - new bar and grille adjacent was opening the next day so I'll have to go back and try it. Several public parking garages right around the corner. We did not have drinks and with tip our bill was $34 per person for lunch

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank loozianafoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houma, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"Out of this world!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was attending a business seminar and was invited by one of the venders to a dinner party at Galatoire's. Wow were we in for a treat. I am a glutton for punishment so I order broiled or baked fish often but 90% of the time is unsatisfactory to say the least. The choice for the dinner was either broiled black drum or filet mignon. Once again opted for the fish. Was I in for a surprise. The fish arrived bathed in a in very savory meuniere sauce. I thought well if anything it won't taste dry like most I have had. The fish was broiled to perfection and the sauce was addictive. I really wanted my boyfriend to have a taste but couldn't part with any of it. He on the hand had the filet which he said was the best he has ever had. That was definitely not the last time we will dine at Galatoire's.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MARY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galatoire's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Galatoire's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing