We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional and Never Disappointed”

Galatoire's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Galatoire's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #105 of 1,946 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Iberville
Clinton, Mississippi
Level Contributor
134 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Traditional and Never Disappointed”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

If you go to New Orleans and stay downtown, you have to eat at Galatoire's. It is expensive but the food and service is wonderful and it is worth it. Gentlemen must wear jackets after 5pm and jeans are not allowed. Good chance you will see celebreties when you visit. Get there early in the evening to get a seat or expect long waits.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    882
    353
    181
    85
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
642 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“THE Place For Lunch”
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We love Galatoires and every time we go we remember why we return. Unbelievable lunch: crunchy oysters brochettes, great seafood gumbo, crab sardou, red fish meunière and much more, we love it that the customers are just about all local and dressed up and deep in conversation. Our waiter had a great Cajun accent and was super attentive. Go for lunch, business casual, but not on Fridays when the line is too long.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby44881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Mexico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gourmet food with a very rare service”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We had delicious Rockefeller's oysters, fillet mignon with a terrific sauce made of mushroom, onions and wine, a killer pudding.....the only downside are the waiters, the ones that don't take care of you, literally do so, they don't give any attention to what you need nor call your waiter.....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crsampieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jerz
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I was very excited to eat here during my first trip to NOLA, but I was very disappointed with my experience, as were my dining companions. I expected the excellent meal and service so many raved about here as well as on travel and food websites, and I got the opposite. However I will note that upscale southern ambiance was lovely.

To begin, we ordered a bottle of wine that ended up sitting on our table unopened and undecanted until several minutes after our appetizers arrived. At that point i was already wondering what was going on. Two of our appetizers, Oysters in Brochette and Foie Gras, were decent but not outstanding. However, the Turtle Soup was bad - none of us had ever had it before, so I was like, "Maybe it's supposed to be a very thin broth that's entirely overpowered by the flavor of sherry," but then I had it the next day at Commander's Palace and I then i knew that Galatoires' version was just bad.

For dinner I ordered Crawfish Etouffee, my husband had Lamb with Bearnaise, and our friend had Boulliabaise. My dish was bland, the crawfish tails were TINY (perhaps to be expected, but maybe not necessarily in NOLA, where I had the biggest crawfish i've ever eaten in my life), the sauce was thin, and the dish featured very little rice. The Boulliabaise was similar - bland, thin broth, and not much fish. I wonder if they were going for some kind of "deconstructed" version of both dishes, which should be hearty and packed with flavor no matter where you're dining - especially at a restaurant where we spent almost $500 for dinner for 3. However, the lamb was delicious - perfectly cooked and a perfect size, topped with a tasty bearnaise. We also ordered a side of creamed spinach, which came out a few minutes after our entrees arrived and was cold. (We noticed that the customers at the table next to us were also complaining about cold food.)

Not wanting to further our disappointment, my group chose to skip dessert.

Finally, this establishment is one that suggests that men wear jackets to dinner. It is expensive and is known as one of the best eateries in new orleans. Why, then, were two women dressed very casually (bordering on sloppily) in jeans and tank tops and sneakers seated at the table next to us? It kind of took away from the already disappointing exprience in my opinion - if i'm going out to a nice restaurant, I want to feel like I'm in a nice restaurant, not at McDonald's.

If you go, I hope your experience is better than mine. But if you have to choose one upscale restaurant in NOLA, I'd go elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank raxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
329 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Respite from the Bourbon Street storm”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A must visit. Nestled amongst the tacky, glaring, seedy, wailing, stumbling, malodorous, tons of fun Bourbon Street is one of NOLA's most refined and dignified establishments. This family owned French Creole cuisine establishment is steeped in tradition and classy but not at all stuffy. We were lucky enough to be seated at Tennessee Williams table #11 in the front corner window so we had a great view of of all the goings on inside and out. Our waitress was lively, engaging and informative about the restaurant history, food and other NOLA attractions.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galatoire's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Galatoire's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing