We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baton Rouge's new Galatoire's”

Galatoire's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Galatoire's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #106 of 1,964 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Iberville
LA
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Baton Rouge's new Galatoire's”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

After Katrina, Galatoire's opened its Bistro in Baton Rouge even before reopening its namesake on Bourbon Street. The location was not optimal, and it closed. Recently reopened in a new location and new building near Acme's Oyster House on Perkins Rd in Baton Rouge, it is larger than the original. Like the original it has the same style tile floor surrounded by large mirrors, as in New Orleans, except an even larger room. Unfortunately, this makes the noise level close to intolerable. Nevertheless, the food source remains the same for both restaurants and this is excellent. The shrimp remoulade are not to be beat, and the crabmeat maison is also superb. Trout amadine is also very good, as is the bread pudding. A 3 course lunch can be had for $19.05, the date for the opening of the New Orleans establishment.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaPaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    904
    361
    188
    85
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
warks
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Too greedy too busy”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Reputation? I'm speechless. The staff even said it was a quiet night, well if so extend the kitchen get realistic with your menu planning, reduce the number of tables, and get a few more staff and work on the arrogance of a particular young lady behind the
bar. oh and perhaps a wee bit more training on the iPad table planer

would help. In summary for me this is yet another restaurant that preys on good food seekers and fail to back up the reputation!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gluggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
1 review
“Disappointed”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Expected more from a well-known and reviewed restaurant. With reservations, we were seated at an unset table, offered a wine that was a different vintage from what we ordered. The specials were well done, but a dish ordered from the regular menu was disappointing (as in frozen food dinner-like disappointing). The wait staff was not particularly welcoming. We were polite and left a reasonable tip, but wouldn't go there again. Why would we, with Arnaud's right around the corner!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DP G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A treat!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

When you had it with Jambalaya and Gumbo, and want to go have quality meal look no further than to Galatoire's. Here the food and the service is of the outmost ambition. Tasteful, stylish and welcoming sums up this place. We had Oyster Rockefeller, lovely but filling so be careful (you might find the main course hard to finish). Don’t forget to order the potato soufflé; the shape is amazing!
For main course we had trout and Crab Yvonne. Very good. Ralph was our waiter, and a very good one too! Will be back at our earliest convenience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

One of our new favorite restaurants in New Orleans. Wonderful food, beautiful setting and fantastic waiters. We will definately go again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galatoire's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Galatoire's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing