We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but not the best!”

Mother's Restaurant
Ranked #181 of 1,933 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Authentic N'Awlins home-style cooking since 1938. The Amato family welcomes you for a taste of tradition.Home of award-winning Jambalaya, the famous Ferdi Special, and the original debris-laden roast beef.Private room for parties, rehearsal dinners and special events.
Level Contributor
255 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good, but not the best!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I didn't get all the hype about this place. The food was good, but I've had better poboys which cost less. I visited with some friends and we sat at a fairly large table, then were asked to move to a smaller one. I can understand if the place was super busy but there was hardly anyone in there. Overall I wasn't impressed with the food or the service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank amars662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,077 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,244
    1,912
    1,125
    432
    364
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Po Boys for the Rich”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is my second visit to Mother's. I had seen it featured on Food Network so we gave it a shot. Let me preface by saying, yes, Mother;s is a landmark that has been in the city for near 100 years. HOWEVER, like Cafe du Monde, this doesn't give you a free pass. My number 1 complaint, the staff was unbelievably rude. While waiting in line one young lady came around the corner and said "move it." AT the register, the girl ringing wouldn't even look at me and kept talking to me while her head was completely turned. This caused me to not be able to here her and I had to repeat myself several times, and the order was still wrong. We told the girl at the register it was for eat in and then when we sat down another employee yelled at us for sitting saying our order was for take out.
When we finally received our food it was just ok. It'd be a stretch to say it's the best po' boy ever (and at between 10-13 a sandwich) hardly for the poor. If you want a giant sloopy sandwich, to eat where Food Network has been and to be treated rudely than this place is worth the walk from the French Quarter. If not then there are several restaurants that offer nearly identical sandwiches. Like Cafe du Monde, I hope they make some changes and restore themselves to their former glory.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lborn724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not quite up to expectation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

It's not a typical restaurant- you go here for the food- in our case, it was to experience the 'legendary' Po Boys. (that's a "poor boy sandwich') and the food scored a 4 out of 5, but it is an expensive, albeit filling sandwich. Our teens said they would go back. I wouldn't. Worth doing if you want to complete your "famous food places in New Orleans" to do list. For me, I don't know whether the other places we visited had set the bar too high. This is obviously a 'must do' for many, but I was left scratching my head and wondering what the fuss was about.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bertiesmile19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MothersRestaurant, Owner at Mother's Restaurant, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
You're right, folks come here for the food---in our case, in the style of home cooking. Mother's has always been a typical, no frills New Orleans joint for po' boys and plate lunches. Its origins 75 years ago as a working class cafeteria have been intentionally kept in place for historical purposes. The dock workers and longshoremen who once inhabited this neighborhood were looking for meals that were "filling." That's a tradition we uphold.

We're pleased that the food merited a "4 out of 5." We kindly ask that people judge us on the reality of their experience, not expectations. Thanks for checking us out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“LIVES UP TO THE HYPE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The line was wrapped around the corner as it was Essence Festival but it moves very quickly. Ask for a menu because there is very little patients for those who don't know what they want. We went twice in two days so that tells you something. The Debris is something to write home about. Must try! Also the cabbage and potato salad were stellar! Sit in Margarite's section...she is a HOOT...GREAT SERVICE. Regardless of what the signs say TIP YOUR SERVERS!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RitaRoams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MothersRestaurant, Owner at Mother's Restaurant, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. We appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It doesn't get more down home than this!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

I try to stop here on every trip. A down home "greasy spoon" where grits, ham, Jambalaya, Gumbo, Etouffee and Po Boys don't get any better! Served by locals who have been here for years, it is New Orleans to the bone. Don't be in a rush. Just take it all in!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MothersRestaurant, Owner at Mother's Restaurant, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Good insights... "don't be in a rush, take it all in." We think that sometimes people mistakenly compare us to a shiny, bright, fast food joint. Instead, we're a 75-year old New Orleans institution still operating in a style that harkens back to days gone by. We're the keepers of tradition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mother's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing