We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant August

Restaurant August
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant August is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 1,918 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Gravier
Description: The cuisine at August is contemporary French with a focus on local ingredients, inspired by Chef John Besh's classical training here and in Europe, and by the depth of his own Southern Louisiana roots. August is located in an historic 19th century French-Creole building in New Orleans' Central Business District. August was a semifinalist for the 2012 and 2013 James Beard Awards Outstanding Restaurant, and has been selected by Gayot as a top 40 Restaurant in the United States. The Times Picayune has named it as one of their top 10 Restaurants the last two years in a row.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great service, great cocktails, and wonderful food. Would recommend to anyone! We had the gnocchi with blue crab, red snapper with octopus and shrimp, and the grouper. Everything was perfect!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aceweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,317
    280
    117
    58
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Attention to detail perfected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

What a joy to be in such good hands as the staff at this fine restaurant! The attention to detail is amazing! I had dinner with two friends, and the servers, wine steward, hostess, etc were all friendly, helpful, attentive, and non-intrusive. They showed up, helped with every single thng we needed, then disappeared. It was magic. I mean courses were coordinated, they noticed who went to the Ladies Room and when they returned, napkins were folded, wine was refilled...perfect wait service is when everything is done and YOU don't even notice! The food was superb, beautifully presented, and delicious. We had the tasting menu with wine pairings. Worth every penny! A very special and enchanting dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitchc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“1st Anniversary Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was one of the best meals my husband and I have ever had! The staff was so friendly and the decor is beautiful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Khaki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, TN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

In my mind this is the best restaurant in New Orleans. That in a city where one can through a rock and hit 2 4 star restaurants. The food, service and ambiance are all great.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhythmdoc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Such a great dining experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was such a treat! We were hesitant to visit because it seemed a little more upscale than we wanted while in New Orleans since we like to eat more local/Cajun, but was the best meal we had on our visit. The service is excellent, but the food was outstanding. The food reminded me of French Laundry in Napa, CA, on a much smaller scale but same impeccable flavors and presentation. This restaurant is a top of the list choice in all our travels.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StacerK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant August also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant August? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing