We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous, Again (and Prix Fixe Menu is a Deal)”
Review of Restaurant August

Restaurant August
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant August is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 1,945 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Gravier
Description: The cuisine at August is contemporary French with a focus on local ingredients, inspired by Chef John Besh's classical training here and in Europe, and by the depth of his own Southern Louisiana roots. August is located in an historic 19th century French-Creole building in New Orleans' Central Business District. August was a semifinalist for the 2012 and 2013 James Beard Awards Outstanding Restaurant, and has been selected by Gayot as a top 40 Restaurant in the United States. The Times Picayune has named it as one of their top 10 Restaurants the last two years in a row.
Lac La Biche Alberta
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fabulous, Again (and Prix Fixe Menu is a Deal)”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

John Besh's flagship restaurant continues to offer elegant surroundings and wonderful service. The lunch menu offers a prix fixe deal of 3 courses for $20.13. I started with the very generous portion of pork pate and it was delicious. The main was pork belly and rice; my wife and I both enjoyed it. Dessert was also enjoyable (chocolate). The meal started with an amuse bouche from the kitchen and was followed with complimentary chocolates and pralines from the pastry chef--small gestures, but so classy. The service was attentive without being overbearing.

We'll definitely go back. Thank you John Besh for a lovely dining experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bushed77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,356
    290
    122
    58
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best in New Orleans”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Do NOT miss this outstanding restaurant! We ate at the top places in NO and by far the best. Must try the lobster gnocchi, heavenly and the trout, two of John Besh signature dishes.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martinibass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good, good, good, and then some”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a party of 8. None of us had jackets, but we were presentable. This was not a problem. The service was beyond exceptional. But, at times I felt like just another customer. The more I think about it the more our maître d was...meh, not all that good. And, I was hesitant b/c I thought we weren't dressed up enough, but he was kind of sloppy. Anywho, back to the food. I had the lamb, and it was exceptional. My loup de mere, which was a crispy white fish. It was just OK. Look, this place was expensive, it has good service, and the food was good. In this case, you get what you pay for. Expect to pay about 200/person with wine. No real tips to help you enjoy your dinner more.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caseywest99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Exceptional! I want to give them a 6!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

If fine dining is normally too expensive for you, go to August for lunch! It was absolutely incredible - much much better than the fancy French Quarter NOLA restaurant where we had been the previous night for dinner.

I had the prix fixe lunch which was superb (and inexpensive for NO at $20). The flavors were delicious for every piece. The presentation delighted the eye.

I would have liked to try dinner there but there was a convention in town and they were totally booked for the week.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DelightedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“It's good, but not all it is cracked up to be.”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We were very excited about going to August having read all the reviews. On the plus side - Great decor, nice ambiance and amazing desserts (the lemon curd soufflé is a standout). On the negative side: service was overdone and intrusive (we were approached by three different servers at 10 minute intervals to ask how things were). While our starters and mains were good, there is a sense that they are over-thought; there are lot of flavors and ingredients in each dish. Some simplicity would go a long way. Three courses and a bottle of wine came to $360 with tip in total, which was mediocre value overall.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewYorker95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant August also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant August? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing