We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best steak ever!!”
Review of Venezia Restaurant

Venezia Restaurant
Ranked #385 of 1,948 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mid-City
Description: Closed due to damage sustained in Hurricane Katrina.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best steak ever!!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is the second time in the past year we've visited New Orleans and ate at Venezia! The lasagna is great, but we also ordered the ribeye which was fantastic - a surprise considering this is an Italian restaurant! And it's a short straight drive from downtown!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buymonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    43
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Old Style Pasta”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I like to go to local funky places to eat when traveling. This joint was worth the trip.
Parking is a pain, area looks a little shady, nothing fancy inside to look at. Service is friendly but not fancy.
Food? Home run!
The pasta was cooked just right, the meat sauce was just that, meat with sauce (gravy) over the top, mix it up and wow what a treat. They brought out freash bread with had a great crust with mely in your mouth inside.
This is a place I will go back to next time I am in New Orleans.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 16weekayeartraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We ended up at Venezia because the restaurant we planned on going to had a 1 hour wait. Boy how lucky were we? This place had fabulous service and some of the best cannelloni I have had since I lived in NY! My hats off to this family owned establishment for its awesome cuisine. My only request is that they invest in an espresso machine, gotta have some espresso with Sambuca after an Italian meal!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DonnaO1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hideaway”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

This restaurant is great. The pizza is the best I have ever had. Tee house salad is also a winner. This place offers great service as well as great food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank melanie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I've been to Venice, Italy, so I am being generous with the five stars”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Ok, Venezia's Restaurant is not a 5 star restaurant, nor does it compare to some world class restaurants I visited in Europe. However, it's darn good homestyle New Orleans Italian food, with a family friendly atmosphere -- it gets kinda loud, but it didn't bother my 6 month old daughter at all last time we were there (May 2013). Plus, it's just a hop, skip, and a jump from Angelo Brocato Ice Cream. The two go together, like red beans and rice, and none of my out-of-town guests have ever complained about either restaurant. Geaux eat dere dawlin', and bring ya momenem!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Venezia Restaurant also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Venezia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing