We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for Mexican food in NOLA”
Review of Taqueria Corona

Taqueria Corona
Ranked #770 of 1,954 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Uptown / Carrollton
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great place for Mexican food in NOLA”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have been patronizing this place since the late 80's. It's just a fantastic joint to get authentic Mexican grub. Very friendly and welcoming staff. The best thing on the menu are their Shrimp Flautas. They are absolutely amazing!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank localyokel1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    18
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great authentic Mexican fare!”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We loved this place - fish tacos are the best! And great margaritas, too! Price is amazing, and loved that you could mix and match the tacos you wanted to eat.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MizzMAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of our must stops. Seriously excellent food.”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Whenever we come to New Orleans, we almost always eat at Taqueria Corona. I used to eat there all the time when I lived in NOLA, and have never had a bad meal. The chorizo taco is probably my favorite meal ever. This review may sound over the top, but I can't compliment this place enough. The chips and pico are very good. The place is small and parking isn't particularly convenient since you have to park on a side street and walk to the restaurant on Magazine St., but it is worth it.

Helpful?
Thank SchulzeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Taqueria Corona”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Taqueria Corona (known by locals simply as Taqueria) is a neighborhood favorite known for its delicious Latin food worth at least double what they're charging for it. The famous margarita pitcher is one of the best deals in town.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nms9017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty food, family-owned, good location on Magazine; great value!!”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

My husband and his friends have been coming to this restaurant for over ten years and kept raving about it, so I finally ate there for the first time 2 years ago, and now it's a favorite of mine, too. It's relatively easy to park nearby. The restaurant atmosphere is comfy and lively and the service is great--even when it's super crowded, we always get treated well and served quickly. It's very family-friendly, as well. The menu is diverse. Their pico de gallo is yummy!! I always get a few things off the a la carte menu--making my own dish. Another couple of favorites are the California Burrito and the Quesadillas. Portions are generous. Sangria is also quite good. The prices are very reasonable and dinner here is a fantastic value and a lovely way to spend the evening.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank honeymooners504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria Corona also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Taqueria Corona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing