We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shwarma!”
Review of Lebanon's Cafe

Lebanon's Cafe
Ranked #255 of 1,947 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: African, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Uptown / Carrollton
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shwarma!”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I love shwarma. I mean, I REALLY love shwarma. The chicken and beef shwarma are great. Hummus is delicious. Best part? You bring your own booze! They don't have a license to sell alcohol so plop yourself down at a table and pop that cork! Enjoy! Did I mention that you should order the shwarma? It's great!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    59
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Had a great time and the food is so good. Will go back many times we shared our dishes and was able to try different dishes and enjoyed everyone.

Helpful?
Thank Jo-Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great ambiance in a "hidden" neighborhood cafe”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Eclectic atmosphere, great food, and excellent service made for an enjoyable evening after baking in the sun at the Jazz Fest. Had a difficult time choosing from the menu, too many enticing choices. We'll just have to return to New Orleans for another try at the menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diver94523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, FL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Do you love lamb?”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Have been eating at Lebanon;s Café for both dinner and lunches for years. This restaurant, in my opinion, is the best Middle-Eastern restaurant in New Orleans. Well worth a try,

I can highly recommend their rosemary grilled lamb chops (one pound, that's about 5-7 chops), last time, it cost about $21.00. This meal is served with a salad, hummus and flat breads. Order a Baba Ganuj appetizer (it comes with more flat breads), and rose hip ice-tea and you have a meal fit for a Sultan. They have a extensive menu of Middle-Eastern dishes, including some for non-lamb lovers.

There is some outside seating on the sidewalk in front of the restaurant that offers shade and a view of the passing St. Charles line street cars. Better than eating inside on a lovely day. We always eat lunch there when in town. It is a lovely neighborhood, with a lot of excellent restaurants.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyT0urists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Our hosts recommended Lebanon's and we were not disappointed. It is situated on S.Carrollton, which is on the street car and No.39 bus route. A little out of the way for most but definately worth the extra trouble. We both had lamb dishes, kebobs and lamb cutlets, Absolutely delicious. Better than you get in Australia, which is where the lamb came from according to our waitress. Best meal we have had in the last month.
Service was excellent and all dishes were very reasonable. Also BYO and no corkage. Totally recommend this restuarant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Top View Farm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lebanon's Cafe also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Lebanon's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing