We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden, but worth the Cab Fare”

Clancy's Restaurant
Ranked #172 of 1,954 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $40
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Uptown / Carrollton
Jackson, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hidden, but worth the Cab Fare”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

20 minute cab ride from Canal Street in New Orleans. Great menu offerings and superb desserts.
Extensive wine list, superior wait staff. All entrees were prepared perfectly (soft shell crab; tuna steak; filet). Exceeds and/or equals better know eating establishments in the French Quarter

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joseph j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    71
    23
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We felt almost like intruders as we listened to the staff greet by name many of the people coming in to eat. But our waiter was good although he frequently chatted with the hostesses as other waiters were working. My pork loin was huge and done just right. This was another excellent New Orleans dining experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Always our first choice”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

When we lived in NOLA we dined there two or three times a month.
When we visit, it is always on our list. This time we want for lunch,
The fried eggplant appetizer is always well done. The appetizer of
of the day was fresh gulf shrimp stuffed with crabmeat and fried to
perfection. My wife enjoyed a smoked soft shell crab almandine.
I savored the pan roasted chicken in a Taso cream sauce with
French style mashed potatoes.
The wine and whisky lists have been dramatically expanded since last year.
Service as always was outstanding. We have long term favorite waitstaff.
So ask for Julie and

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“With a kid going to Tulane, this is a treat!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stunning service in a friendly atmosphere creates an easy evening for you to be seen with your teenager. Do not miss out on the oysters and brie and save room for dessert. The place is a tad noisy, but festive. When they say "topped with crab meat", they are not kidding. Some interesting and unusual fish choices are worth a try, too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JanetMP1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Food was excellent, service impeccable. Enjoyed the meal, atmosphere, and service very much. A bit expensive, but worth leaving the Quarter for if you are visiting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JJRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clancy's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Clancy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing