We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Nola Restaurant

Nola Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Nola Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #100 of 1,947 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Chartres Street
Description: NOLA is chef/restaurateur Emeril Lagasse's casual and funky eatery in the heart of New Orleans' French Quarter. Open since 1992, the critically-acclaimed restaurant fuses traditional Creole, Acadian and Southern cuisine with global influences. Chef de cuisine Brian Mottola works closely with Chef Emeril to create an innovative menu showcasing rustic Louisiana cooking with local ingredients and some ethnic twists. The three-story restaurant features an open-action kitchen, chef's food bar and a signature wood-fired brick oven. NOLA serves dinner nightly and lunch Thursday through Monday.
1 review
“Great place!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Only stopped for an appetizer and a drink but Miss Mae's stuffed chicken wings and a strong sazerac will have me going back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,828
    694
    389
    128
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Had a fabulous meal and experience at NOLA. Excellent food and excellent service. The shrimp and grits was great!

Very nice ambiance. Very professional wait staff. Great all around experience. Best meal we have had in New Orleans. We will be back.

Helpful?
Thank E1441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Uninvited Dinner Companion”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We booked in advance for a special dinner on our last night in New Orleans. The food was excellent, the staff was attentive and friendly. We were seated by the window on the first floor. Everything was going great until we saw a mouse scurry by the wall. We sighted a mouse 2 more times. We informed the waitstaff who then informed the manager who was alarmed. Although food was great the multiple mouse sighting ruined the overall experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scenic-route01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moro, Illinois
Level Contributor
403 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch Experience!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our party of 4 women had lunch at NOLAs on Father's Day. We made an early reservation and didn't have to wait for a table. The whole experience was wonderful. The food was perfect. I assume everything on the menu is great. My favorites were the Gumbo of the Day and the Crème Brûlée Trio. This was the best dessert I've ever had!

The servers we had were excellent. All of our dishes were served at exactly the same moment. One of our party had an issue with walking. When she stood up to go to the restroom a server came and gave her his elbow for assistance and escorted her there and back.

This was an exceptional experience!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFreeWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nothing to go shouting from the roof tops about.”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We were taken here by family and friends, and were expecting an experience to salivate and savor, but it did not quite come up to the mark. The table service was commendable, but the food failed to live up to the billing and did not come up to the same level as the service. Maybe the 'Monday Night Blues' by the kitchen staff?
With the subdued lighting of the restaurant, added to the atmosphere, but detracted from the eating experience, as 'the first taste is with the eyes', I wanted to see the plates that were laid before us. Whether this was because our round table was in a poor lit area, we were to the right of the entrance, by the window overlooking the street, and across from the maitre d' deck & the glass lift.
Shrimp was one of the selection of appetizers, the sauce was swimming on the plate while the 5 small shrimp were drowning in it. I thought the shrimp should've been larger and butterflied, unfortunately not.
We used the jalapeno muffins to get more of a taste of the sauce, and found the hint of jalapeno pepper missing, just moist mini muffins.
The boudin balls were another appetizers, I thought boudin was to have a fair element of spice, but these were bland small mini mince balls. The duck pizza was nice.
From the starters, I can recommend the fresh gumbo, that did have a good taste & spice to it and made the mark. The cauliflower bisque was nice, but nothing special to rave about.
Our first choice from the wine selection was out of stock on their computer, but the wine waiter had a look anyway and came back with our first choice for our imbibement.
My smoked duck entree was fall off the bone, but was overly dry and the hickory duck has somehow unsmoked.
Had a taste of a friend's buttered fish, the fish was swimming in the butter, the sauce overpowering the fish and not complementing the subtle white fish taste.
My wife's pork dish looked the best presented, from what I could see in the subdued lighting. The sides complementing the pork, but the pork close to the bone was a little pink, though seemingly fully cooked.
The maitre d' did pass our table once to ask how everything was, 'nice' was the collective reply.
The exceptional service was an experience, the plates were presentable & passable, but nothing exceptional, the meal somewhat lacking in achievement.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tommy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nola Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nola Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing