We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOOOODD GUMBO”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nola Restaurant

Nola Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Nola Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #99 of 1,933 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Chartres Street
Description: NOLA is chef/restaurateur Emeril Lagasse's casual and funky eatery in the heart of New Orleans' French Quarter. Open since 1992, the critically-acclaimed restaurant fuses traditional Creole, Acadian and Southern cuisine with global influences. Chef de cuisine Brian Mottola works closely with Chef Emeril to create an innovative menu showcasing rustic Louisiana cooking with local ingredients and some ethnic twists. The three-story restaurant features an open-action kitchen, chef's food bar and a signature wood-fired brick oven. NOLA serves dinner nightly and lunch Thursday through Monday.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“GOOOOODD GUMBO”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

had lunch there during our trip to n'awlins.........had the gumbo of course and it was the best i had in new orleans. all others in our group also enjoyed the food. great service and reasonable prices .....would certainly go there again......

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Felizmujer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,055 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,798
    684
    376
    124
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We made reservations for 6pm. We came in, gave the hostess our name, and then nothing. We stood off to the side for a couple minutes not knowing what was going on. It would have been nice to be told what was going on.

Our waiters were very nice. Though we had a 16 month old with us and though it was on in the reservation we needed a high chair we didn't get one until our dinner came. I had to ask and then they were running out like crazy trying to find one. They knew we needed one, why it wasn't brought when we were seated I have no idea.

Food was good. The ciabatta and jalapeno cornbread were great! The shrimp and grits-recommended by the waiter- was good but not great and I wish I had gotten something different. My husband had the fried chicken - he said it was the best he'd ever had. My parents both got the drum fish which they both liked immensely. For dessert we had the banana pudding cake - it was good but not great. My parents had the gooey chocolate cake with coffee ice cream - delicious.

Overall a pleasant experience.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank butcherika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

We were so happy to have the chance to eat one of Emeril's restaurants, and very, very surprised that we were able to get in...without a reservation! The place was packed but we managed to get a table on the 3rd floor. The jalapeno cornbread was good, but if it was warm, it would have been awesome. The duck appetizer was ok but the entrees we ordered were out of this world! We thought about dessert, but we were stuffed. It was an expensive meal, but I would dine there again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Derygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
534 reviews
353 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I was in town for business and went to dinner here. We all know the chef Emeril Lagasse and this is one of his New Orleans restaurants. The wine list is very extensive and complete. There are wine choices for all budgets. I started with a nice mixed lettuce salad with goat cheese. For the main course I choose the pork chop on sweet potatoes. If you order this bring an appetite. The pork chop is large and perfectly cooked. It was juicy and flavorful. I splurged and had desert which was a banana pudding cake. It was good also. The service was attentive and professional. Overall a recommended spot when you are in New Orleans.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swiftmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Delicious Contemporary Cajun Cuisine & outstanding Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had an excellent experience. Our food was outstanding- Lousiana Cuisine with a flare. Great wine list and cocktails. Service was outstanding , charming and professional.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lainba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nola Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nola Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing