We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch”
Review of Nola Restaurant

Nola Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Nola Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #100 of 1,947 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: Chartres Street
Description: NOLA is chef/restaurateur Emeril Lagasse's casual and funky eatery in the heart of New Orleans' French Quarter. Open since 1992, the critically-acclaimed restaurant fuses traditional Creole, Acadian and Southern cuisine with global influences. Chef de cuisine Brian Mottola works closely with Chef Emeril to create an innovative menu showcasing rustic Louisiana cooking with local ingredients and some ethnic twists. The three-story restaurant features an open-action kitchen, chef's food bar and a signature wood-fired brick oven. NOLA serves dinner nightly and lunch Thursday through Monday.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice lunch”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch while wandering the French Qtr. We split the gulf shrimp remoulade appetizer which was very tasty. We both had the gumbo du jour- very nice on a rainy Sunday. Service was friendly and efficient.

Helpful?
Thank Kshea70
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

3,115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,828
    694
    389
    128
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Big Yummy Plates!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Ate here twice on my last trip to NOLA. Came for New Years Eve and found ourselves here several times. The fried shrimp plate is huge and very tasty! We also had fresh oysters, the Cajun pasta, and the cheeseburger. We were all pleasantly surprised. We even made the trek from our hotel at 230 in the morning because we were craving the shrimp! I'm not sure if they're always open that late or if it was because it was NYE. Visit this place, you won't be dissapointed!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingtexan537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Emeril's better more authentic restaurant”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Shrimp and grits and fried chicken. It's all you really need to know before you go here. If you only try these two things the trip is worth it. The chicken is tender, moist, crunchy and flavorful. The grits are creamy and tasty. Worth it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PeterSNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Food was great; some hiccups in the service”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our meal here was excellent. This was our second time at NOLA and both were top-notch. The shrimp and cheddar grits is an amazing dish. The fried chicken is heavenly. The crabcake starters are not to be missed. But both visits had some minor issues with the service that probably shouldn't occur at a restaurant of this caliber (forgetting to bring out a dish, even after a reminder; neglecting water refills). One thing that seems to compound this problem is that the kitchen is downstairs and we were seated on the third floor. If they forget to bring something, it isn't quickly remedied. I think the food is really well prepared here. The menu is thoughtful and the selection is nice. The service could use some fine-tuning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coupleofjoneses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville< KY
Level Contributor
112 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Outstanding - BAM!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We dined there for lunch as we quickly ran out of nights in New Orleans and I wanted to try Nola! I am sure glad we did. Everything was outstanding and the service was tops - attentive and friendly without being stuffy or intrusive. We explained we were still pretty full from breakfast and our server worked with us on a terrific salad we split, plus an appetizer and the Shrimp and Grits. They all worked but I am not sure I would do the bar-be-que shrimp appetizer and then have the Shrimp and grits. I was a little conflicted because I loved the sauce on the shrimp appetizer but did not enjoy the sauce as much on the Shrimp and grits.

It was noon and we had a lot of day left and a Sugar Bowl that night but still had their Cosmo after sampling my wife's. I must say it was good and I now have a jar of pineapple infused vodka in the making as the server was kind enough to provide the recipe!

It was a great experience! Get in there!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LiveWellDineWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nola Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nola Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing