We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Bar for Dinner”

Muriel's Jackson Square
Reserve with OpenTable
Muriel's Jackson Square is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 1,947 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: St. Ann
Description: The Bistro at Muriel’s Jackson Square offers New Orleans classics like Gumbo, BBQ Shrimp, Oysters "Muriel", Turtle soup, Fried Gulf Shrimp Po-boy, Crabmeat Imperial, Shrimp Remoulade & contemporary Creole cuisine like Pecan Crusted Drum & Wood Grilled Tuna while the Courtyard Bar is the perfect place to drop by for drinks & appetizers. The Séance Lounge is the place for a relaxed, comfortable meeting before or after dining. Comprised of two areas, The Outer & The Inner Séance, the Séance also tells the story of a mystic & checkered past. The Outer Séance addresses the New Orleans era of Storyville & when Muriel's Jackson Square was one of the French Quarter's best bordellos! The Inner Séance is the preferred domain of the resident ghost, Pierre Antoine Lepardi Jourdan, & is the perfect spot for an intimate conversation & a drink amongst its plush surroundings.
Gulfport, MS
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love the Bar for Dinner”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We always sit at the bar for drinks and dinner. It's hidden in the back away from the big dining room and the servers are great. They always take care of us and are very friendly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,725
    1,022
    294
    84
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schulenburg, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I have dined at Muriel's four times during the past several years, and each experience seems to outdo the last. Our most recent visit was part of a large party. Because I currently have a broken foot, I used a motorized scooter but wanted to join others on the balcony prior to dining. No problem! I was whisked into the service elevator by the courteous and efficient staff and was able to be part of the upstairs festivities. The food which followed was fit for a king (or queen). We had shrimp and goat cheese crepes, wood grilled pork chop and stuffed mirlitons, and bread pudding with praline sauce and garnished with candied pecans. Everything was divine and the service was impeccable. Muriel's is one of those special restaurants that truly makes the customer feel special! I highly recommend it for anyone wanting a fine dining experience combined with a gorgeous but friendly, comfortable atmosphere. And, my husband said his hurricane cocktail was the best he's ever had!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilidalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphysboro
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice in the French Quarter”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had dinner at Muriel's on Jackson Square on Saturday, October 19, 2013. The service was impeccable. The ambience was rich, yet warm and welcoming. There was an excellent variety on the menu with very large portions yet the desserts were not overly done or excessively large. The entrees were well paired with the sides for a sumptuous meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrific!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

It's a little pricey, but it's worth it. Dress nice so you fit in. The creme brule was the best I've ever had.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife, Mom-In-Law and I ate at Muriel's. It was a Tuesday night and not busy. The food was excellent - gumbo, gulf fish, salmon steak, 1/2 chicken, salads and appetizers. The waiter was knowledgeable and accommodating towards my wife, who is a fussy eater. This was our best dinner out of seven suppers in NOLA. Food value was very reasonable for such a "high-end" restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Readyright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muriel's Jackson Square also viewed

 

Been to Muriel's Jackson Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing