We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice change”

Muriel's Jackson Square
Reserve with OpenTable
Muriel's Jackson Square is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 1,964 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: St. Ann
Description: The Bistro at Muriel’s Jackson Square offers New Orleans classics like Gumbo, BBQ Shrimp, Oysters "Muriel", Turtle soup, Fried Gulf Shrimp Po-boy, Crabmeat Imperial, Shrimp Remoulade & contemporary Creole cuisine like Pecan Crusted Drum & Wood Grilled Tuna while the Courtyard Bar is the perfect place to drop by for drinks & appetizers. The Séance Lounge is the place for a relaxed, comfortable meeting before or after dining. Comprised of two areas, The Outer & The Inner Séance, the Séance also tells the story of a mystic & checkered past. The Outer Séance addresses the New Orleans era of Storyville & when Muriel's Jackson Square was one of the French Quarter's best bordellos! The Inner Séance is the preferred domain of the resident ghost, Pierre Antoine Lepardi Jourdan, & is the perfect spot for an intimate conversation & a drink amongst its plush surroundings.
alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice change”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

after walking the area and the noise it was nice to enter quite and elegant restaurant. we had the pecan encrusted drum,very flaky and light flavor,had the escargot app and was great. the service was excellent price not outrageous like most. would recommend

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lverton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,777
    1,035
    299
    87
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Muriel's”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I dined at Muriel's in Jackson Square last week and loved it. We made reservations at 5:30 so we beat the crowd but by the time we left almost every table was full.
Should make reservations if there are events in New Orleans because its hard to get in at those times. Waiters were attentive and nice food was good. Check menu out before going in because there is not a lot to chose from but what they do have was good. Enjoyed the atmosphere and the history about the ghost.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandys49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascagoula, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were seated promptly in the courtyard. Our waiter made our two children feel special and made sure our experience was memorable. The lunch special was a hit. Soup and an entree which was served quickly. The food was delicious and fresh

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenG617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was my favorite stop during our Gulf Coast getaway! We stopped in for lunch after a long mid morning tour. Our servers were efficient and so friendly! The food was delicious and reasonably priced. Wish we had tried the famous desserts but were too stuffed after our plentiful entrees! After our meal we inquired about the in house ghost and our server encouraged us to explore the upstairs of the house and the balcony. We got some awesome pictures of Jackson Square from the balcony and a neat ghost story too. When we return to New Orleans this will be our go to location!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

There are many restaurants in the French Quarter but not a lot of options for those who want a gluten free menu. This restaurant has such a menu.
The atmosphere is wonderful. We had to wait for our table so we went to the bar for a drink and asked if we could go upstairs to visit the brothel we heard about and management was happy to oblige. Normally, you can go upstais for private functions and to access the balcony to have your drink. What you need to do is go right once you get upstair and there are 2 rooms. One which is sort of a waiting room and the other,more of a "get acquainted" room. Both are lit up in red light and decorated for the time period when it was a brothel in the 1800's. Very, very cool.

The food was very good and is a little pricier than other restaurants but honestly, it cost about 20.00 more than other places we visited that week and we felt it was worth it.

This is a restaurant to visit, especially for those with Celiac as this city is not Cliac friendly. Everything is deep fried!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank westcanguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muriel's Jackson Square also viewed

 

Been to Muriel's Jackson Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing