We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“First turtle soup for me!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Muriel's Jackson Square

Muriel's Jackson Square
801 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3206 (French Quarter)
504-568-1885
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Muriel's Jackson Square is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 1,839 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Cross street: St. Ann
Description: The Bistro at Muriel’s Jackson Square offers New Orleans classics like Gumbo, BBQ Shrimp, Oysters "Muriel", Turtle soup, Fried Gulf Shrimp Po-boy, Crabmeat Imperial, Shrimp Remoulade & contemporary Creole cuisine like Pecan Crusted Drum & Wood Grilled Tuna while the Courtyard Bar is the perfect place to drop by for drinks & appetizers. The Séance Lounge is the place for a relaxed, comfortable meeting before or after dining. Comprised of two areas, The Outer & The Inner Séance, the Séance also tells the story of a mystic & checkered past. The Outer Séance addresses the New Orleans era of Storyville & when Muriel's Jackson Square was one of the French Quarter's best bordellos! The Inner Séance is the preferred domain of the resident ghost, Pierre Antoine Lepardi Jourdan, & is the perfect spot for an intimate conversation & a drink amongst its plush surroundings.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First turtle soup for me!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Delicious food and served fast. Great atmosphere and a great place for a business dinner. The turtle soup was good, but the baked oysters over the pasta were great! Plus, I hear the place is haunted- Reserve the table in the back, the one by the courtyard, or ask the hostess about it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cegonzalez1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,185
    841
    244
    74
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Every bite was amazing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

On our spur-of-the-moment road trip to NOLA this week, we took the advice of our pedal-cab guide, Bella, who recommended Muriels for dinner. We chose to sit in the open courtyard area where we could people watch. Though it was late in the evening, we had had a long day and needed to munch, so we chose to eat picnic style and share. Tomato & Mozzarella with Prosciutto with a drizzle of pesto sauce, Chicken with shiitaki mushroom soup, and spinach salad with hot bacon dressing and pecans. No words can describe the amazing flavor of each bite. They say that "nothing is as good as the first bite of something"...I can attest to the inacurracy of that statement...Every bite was intense, and full of pleasure! The staff was professional and friendly & the presentation was upscale. The restaurant is off the beaten path, and more of a local eatery, rather than a tourist spot. Highly recommended. Ask your local guide to point you in the right direction for a truly delightful dining experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthernBuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“atmosphere, food, service, all perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have eaten at Muriel's many times at lunch but this was our first dinner experience. we had a large table. It was Super Bowl weekend and we still were seated immediately, service was impecable, food to die for and the atmosphere is upbeat and fun but upscale too! Perfect night!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cartyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, WV
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Service was impeccable, food was fantastic and overall vibe was the best. My wife had the puppy drum and I had the pork chops from the prix fix menu. Chicken mushroom soup was delicious, creme brulee and bread pudding were the perfect end for the meal and the best we've had in so long. Definitely will return every time we are back in the quarter. Had Justin wines which was a plus in my book.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank renick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food in the French Quarter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were in town for the Super Bowl and watched our Ravens again become World Champions! Muriel's was recommended by a local friend and so we decided to stop by for a late breakfast/early lunch before the big game. Great food in NOLA is the standard so we were expecting nothing less. We walked in with no reservation and were seated immediately by a smiling face. Our server Jessica was warm, knowledgable, and efficient. My wife had the shrimp and goat cheese crepes in an excellent remoulade sauce. Simply delicious. I had the shrimp and andouille sausage omelette stuffed with onions and peppers topped with a creole sauce garnished with the best homemade biscuit I've ever eaten and diced fried potatoes. Excellent. Their variation of eggs Benedict also looked incredible but I will save that for another visit.

We were also indulged with the story of Antoine the resident ghost of the property which made the mimosas and Bloody Mary's (garnished with pickled okra) taste better as we chatted. We then went and toured the upstairs which is decorated in tasteful gaudy and great. We spent the next 45 minutes on the balcony people watching with no pressure from the staff to order more drinks. Just a wonderful experience.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bozzy1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muriel's Jackson Square also viewed

 

Been to Muriel's Jackson Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing