We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal of my entire life.”
Review of Gumbo Shop

Gumbo Shop
Ranked #93 of 1,989 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: Established in 1948, The Award Winning Gumbo Shop features a wide range of New Orleans cuisine at its finest. Enjoy fantastic customer service and great food. Patrons are also welcome to order from our full wine list including 30 Wines by the Glass.Gumbo Shop is located at 630 St. Peters Street, 1/2 block from Jackson Square in the French Quarter. As the name implies, gumbo is a fixture on the menu, but our menu also features Creole and Cajun inspired dishes that represent New Orleans' truly unique cuisine. Gumbo Shop was founded in 1948 in a former French Quarter home built in the late 1700's. The building represents a typical French Quarter layout with central courtyard and former kitchen in the rear. For the past 20 consecutive years, Gumbo Shop has received the "Best of New Orleans" best place to eat gumbo from Gambit, a local publication that relies on reader polls to determine the winners in all categories.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I had gotten caught in a thunderstorm -- leaving a cemetery tour, no less -- and took refuge here for a late lunch. Had the turkey and andouille sausage gumbo that was on special. It was served steaming hot with a loaf of crusty French bread, and it was so delicious that I wiped up every drop with the bread. I then had hot bread pudding with whiskey sauce. I have never been so physically and emotionally satisfied by a meal in my life. Even the prices were reasonable.

Thank Aimee295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylin M, General Manager at Gumbo Shop, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

The best meal of your life? That's all we could ever ask for! Thanks for the kind words, Aimee, and please stop by and see us for another piece of Bread Pudding next time you're in NOLA!

Cheers,
Gaylin McAllister, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,441 - 2,445 of 3,520 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

One of the few places in the French Quarter that offers a vegetarian option! The food was very tasty (especially the gumbo and white beans and rice). We ate twice here during our 6 day stay in NOLA. The service is friendly, although we felt a little rushed on our first visit, which was a Friday evening and very busy. The prices were reasonable and it was nice to sample New Orleans fare that was vegetarian-friendly.

Thank stuphor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylin M, General Manager at Gumbo Shop, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Everyone should have a great taste of New Orleans! Glad you loved every bite of our vegetarian dishes, but we wish that we had been able to help you unwind during your visit. We'll talk to our team about that, but until then, thanks for the wonderful review! Hope to have you back next time you're in town.

Cheers,
Gaylin McAllister, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I went here with a group of 5, including a preteen and a vegetarian (myself). While it was commented that the jambalaya was only okay, overall we were very pleased with the selection. The meal was served with small loaves of warm bread, and the service was colorful and efficient. I was especially pleased with the vegetation beans and rice, which were delicious.

Thank Eden K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gaylin M, General Manager at Gumbo Shop, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

It sounds like everyone found a delicious dish! Thanks for making us a part of your trip, Eden. Come back and see us next time you're in NOLA!

Regards,
Gaylin McAllister, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The menu offers a great variety of New Orleans style food in a great location within the French Quarter. My family and I ate there the evening of July 31, 2013. The only drawback was the waiter who was not as warm and friendly as the others I overheard throughout our meal. He was short and a little rude when I told him our guest were running a few minutes behind even though we ordered drinks and an appetizer while we waited, we were having an early dinner and there were more than enough tables empty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Darlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylin M, General Manager at Gumbo Shop, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

It's disappointing when poor service overshadows what could have been a fabulous meal. We wish we had been able to show you the outstanding service that we're known for, and we apologize for falling short. We'll speak to the whole team about this, so thanks for taking the time to let us know about your visit, Darlene. In the meantime, we hope to have another chance to wow you next time you're in town.

All the best,
Gaylin McAllister, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

So many times we have come here for lunch or dinner and never been disappointed. The bread is so good. The gumbo is the best. I had the shrimp creole, jambalaya and red beans and rice. So good. The waiter was terrific. Typical New Orleans atmosphere. Give it a try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GTS345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylin M, General Manager at Gumbo Shop, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

The best gumbo in town? We're flattered! Thanks for the shout out, and we'll see you next time you're in the Big Easy!

All the best,
Gaylin McAllister, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gumbo Shop also viewed

 

Been to Gumbo Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing