We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a tourist trap!”
Review of Gumbo Shop

Gumbo Shop
Ranked #177 of 2,049 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: Established in 1948, The Award Winning Gumbo Shop features a wide range of New Orleans cuisine at its finest. Enjoy fantastic customer service and great food. Patrons are also welcome to order from our full wine list including 30 Wines by the Glass.Gumbo Shop is located at 630 St. Peters Street, 1/2 block from Jackson Square in the French Quarter. As the name implies, gumbo is a fixture on the menu, but our menu also features Creole and Cajun inspired dishes that represent New Orleans' truly unique cuisine. Gumbo Shop was founded in 1948 in a former French Quarter home built in the late 1700's. The building represents a typical French Quarter layout with central courtyard and former kitchen in the rear. For the past 20 consecutive years, Gumbo Shop has received the "Best of New Orleans" best place to eat gumbo from Gambit, a local publication that relies on reader polls to determine the winners in all categories.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was the third time I've been to this restaurant, and I was happy again! They serve great classic New Orleans dishes like crawfish etouffe and seafood gumbo. We sat in the courtyard, our favorite spot. Due to the chilly air there were heaters which felt great! The prices are reasonable and the drinks are very good. I will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylin M, General Manager at Gumbo Shop, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Yes, those heaters really do work wonders on a chilly night! We're so glad that you felt at home with us, Robin. We'll see you next time you're in New Orleans!

Cheers,
Gaylin McAllister, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,896 - 2,900 of 3,765 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

Service great, food priced well, like home cooking....I had shrimp creole ...tasted great. Quaint little place...sat on the patio which was really pretty. Good portion of food...

Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylin M, General Manager at Gumbo Shop, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Shrimp Creole is a New Orleans classic! We're glad you enjoyed it, Janice. Thank you for the wonderful review!

All the best,
Gaylin McAllister, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This restaurant has all the atmosphere of New Orleans. The staff was absolutely helpful and friendly but when it came to the food the disappointment set in. The salad was above average but when it came to the jambalaya it was like ordering a bowl of fried rice. It was completely void of any sausage or chicken that makes this plate so famous. I would give it another try but would certainly not order this plate again

Thank PatskiMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylin M, General Manager at Gumbo Shop, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for giving us a try. Although we're happy to hear that you enjoyed our laid-back New Orleans ambiance, we wish that our jambalaya had left you with similar feelings. The texture you've described is quite disconcerting—furthermore, you should have noticed plenty of chicken and sausage on your plagte. We apologize, and we will certainly check in with our kitchen to keep instances like this to a minimum. Until then, thank you for your candor. We hope to have another opportunity to earn your business during your next trip to our city.

Best wishes,
Gaylin McAllister, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Hard to beat the chicken gumbo (which, by the way, is much better than their seafood gumbo). Nice ambience with indoor and outdoor seating in a courtyard. Reasonable prices, casual dining, great service. We always eat there when in New Orleans.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tomcat408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylin M, General Manager at Gumbo Shop, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thanks for making us a part of your trips to New Orleans! We're so happy to hear that you've enjoyed our take on the classic chicken gumbo, but we are a bit confused about your rating. Would you mind sharing what brought it to two stars? Let us know and we'll see what we can do to improve. Until then, thank you for you candor. We hope to hear from you again soon.

Best,
Gaylin McAllister, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stopped in here impulsively and were seated in the courtyard, which was quaint and cosy in February and has a nice little water feature on the wall. Our waitress was excedingly helpful, especially with my dietary restrictions, with finding a suitable meal for me to eat.

All four of us greatly enjoyed our meal and drinks. The food arrived hot and fresh and was delicious. The drinks were of a reasonable size and price.

The restaurant has their own cookbook with their recipes that are on the current menu. My only regret was not buying the cookbook while there.

Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylin M, General Manager at Gumbo Shop, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Sandy,

Hot, fresh and delicious—all words that we love to hear! We're so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. And don't fret: you can still get a great taste of New Orleans at home if order gumbo online! In the meantime, thank you for sharing your kind words. We'll see you next time you're in town!

Cheers,
Gaylin McAllister, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gumbo Shop also viewed

 

Been to Gumbo Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing