We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the classics”
Review of Gumbo Shop

Gumbo Shop
Ranked #92 of 1,976 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Description: Established in 1948, The Award Winning Gumbo Shop features a wide range of New Orleans cuisine at its finest. Enjoy fantastic customer service and great food. Patrons are also welcome to order from our full wine list including 30 Wines by the Glass.Gumbo Shop is located at 630 St. Peters Street, 1/2 block from Jackson Square in the French Quarter. As the name implies, gumbo is a fixture on the menu, but our menu also features Creole and Cajun inspired dishes that represent New Orleans' truly unique cuisine. Gumbo Shop was founded in 1948 in a former French Quarter home built in the late 1700's. The building represents a typical French Quarter layout with central courtyard and former kitchen in the rear. For the past 20 consecutive years, Gumbo Shop has received the "Best of New Orleans" best place to eat gumbo from Gambit, a local publication that relies on reader polls to determine the winners in all categories.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Gumbo Shop does all the classics and does them well. There is uaully a pretty long wait for dinner, but if you can get in for lunch, do it. The jambalaya comes in a large portion and is seasoned well. The sides are all good and the gumbo, of course, is great with that wonderful baguette you can only get in New Orleans.

It is tight on the inside and they could probably lose a couple of tables to make a little space, but overall it is a very good experience.

Thank GoodFood88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylin M, General Manager at Gumbo Shop, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Whether you stop by for lunch or dinner, we're always happy to welcome a fellow lover of Cajun and Creole cuisine! It sounds like you had a fabulous lunch—of course, you just can't go wrong with jambalaya! Thanks for allowing us to be a part of your trip. We'll see you next time you're in New Orleans!

All the best,
Gaylin McAllister, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,417)
There are newer reviews for Gumbo Shop
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,596 - 2,600 of 3,417 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Lunch New Years Eve was packed. Wait was long, but worth it. Gumbo had the perfect essence of okra. The corn machoux (sp?) was fabulous as always. The wait staff was superb. Wine suggestions were on target, and complimented food selections as planned. We were a party of four and everyone left happy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JAMES P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylin M, General Manager at Gumbo Shop, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Yes! The Macque Choux Corn is definitely one for the books. Thank you for spending New Years Eve with us, and for the fabulous review, James. We hope to have you back again soon—we'll have that gumbo ready!

All the best,
Gaylin McAllister, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I had lunch here with two work companions--the food was outstanding and I will go back when I visit New Orleans again. The award-winning gumbo more than lived up to its name; it was excellent. But the star was the bread pudding. I adored bread pudding and this was the best I have ever tried. I was very pleased (and restored for a long afternoon of work).

Thank Heliodorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylin M, General Manager at Gumbo Shop, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Excellence is what we strive for, so it's very rewarding to know that we've achieved it during your last visit. Thank you for taking the time to sing our praises on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Cheers,
Gaylin McAllister, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The bread, although crispy, warm and served with room temperature butter, was wrapped in a this paper towel with the ends sticking out and place directly on the table. !!!! The Chicken Espagnole was burnt and inedible. The gumbo (the reason we came here) was bland. The creole mix was boring (didn't want to use bland again.) The service was excellent and pleasant but the food was awful.

Thank Wandering_in_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylin M, General Manager at Gumbo Shop, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

For over 60 years, we have prided ourselves on serving the Cajun and Creole cuisine that we grew up with. It is terribly disappointing to learn of your recent visit, Jon. "Boring" and "bland" are never words that we like to hear, and we apologize for falling short for you. We are appalled that your Chicken Espagnole arrived burnt and inedible, and we wish that we could have resolved this during your visit. That said, we know that we can do better, and we want to make this right. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you'd like to discuss this further. Until then, thank you for your candid feedback, both here and on Yelp.

Best wishes,
Gaylin McAllister, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We ate here a couple of years ago and couldn't get enough of it. I was disappointed this time. Food was expensive and portions were small. I got the seafood gumbo and it was slimy.
On the other hand, our waitress was great. The table next to us were new comers with different wants and she handled it like a pro. One wanted vegan and she knew what had chicken broth in it.
Will we be back? Probably not.

Thank auxvasse
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gaylin M, General Manager at Gumbo Shop, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Although we're delighted that you were so pleased with your server, we wish that this positive impression had extended to your meal. Your description of your dinner is quite disappointing, especially given how excited you were to return. We apologize, and we know that we have what it takes to show you a fabulous evening. We hope to have another opportunity to earn your business next time you're in New Orleans.

Best wishes,
Gaylin McAllister, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Gumbo Shop also viewed

 

Been to Gumbo Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing