We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite place in New Orleans” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mona Lisa Restaurant

Mona Lisa Restaurant
Ranked #125 of 1,918 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: French Quarter
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Favorite place in New Orleans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

My husband and I travel to NOLA every year and we always go to Mona Lisa's. It is our favorite restaurant, they have great pizza, pastas, dessert.
I love the decor, lot's of drawings of Mona Lisa done by customers and local artists. Funky and fun, great location on Royal Street. I am Italian, have traveled to Italy, and am from Chicago, and this is my favorite pizza.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maxson666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    177
    41
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
231 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Best PIZZA ever! Free delivery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

A friend recommended this place to me and was dead on! They serve the best pizza here! Good service, an eclectic atmosphere added to the appeal.
Well done, Mona Lisa!
AND they said that they deliver in the Quarter and the Marigny for free!

Helpful?
Thank Chuckwud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Worth wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Waited an hour for a table, but worth the wait, went to the red gravy but was closed for mardi gras, someone said to go here, glad we did, great food, and the price is the best in new orleans

Helpful?
Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sappington, Missouri
Level Contributor
81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Different, But In a Good Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

There are plenty of places in the FQ that are different. But Mona Lisa is different in a way that makes you want to come back.
We just happened on it while walking around on a Sunday and are happy we did.
The interior walls are full of different Mona Lisa images by talented (and some not-so-talented) artists and it is worth going to just look at them while waiting for your meal. Definitely a "fun kind of different".
Great food-primarily Italian, not surprisingly. Prepared with a slightly creative touch but not so much to be considered strange or even overly eclectic. Look at it as the standards with a little twist.
Clientele as well as the server were classic FQ NOLA types.
This would be a must-return spot the next time I visit. Strongly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iamabum4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We had walked by this place many times, but didn't go until we had read the positive reviews on trip advisor. It was only a couple blocks from our hotel, in the quieter area of the French Quarter. The aroma meets you as soon as you step inside. We ordered Mardi Gras pasta and seafood pasta. Both were excellent and accompanied with a side salad and a very tasty wedge of a sort of cheese bread/pizza. Our meal including a coke and a glass of wine was just under $40. Frequented by as many locals as tourists, so ..... That says it al!,,

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mona Lisa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mona Lisa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing