We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still loved it 26 years later!”
Review of Feelings Cafe - CLOSED

Feelings Cafe
Price range: $0 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Eagan, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still loved it 26 years later!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

26 years ago we visited a small restaurant just out of the french quarter on our first anniversary. We loved it and especially remembered the peanut butter pie. Unfortunately we couldn't remember the name. With the help of google searching for peanut butter pie and patio dining. We found it!

It doesn't look like much from outside, but the inside is just as we remembered it 26 years ago. Someone described it as shabby chic and I would agree. we sat on the patio and enjoyed the evening air. We selected entrees off of their specials and they were each excellent. And the peanut butter pie was all that we remembered.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    36
    15
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food in an unpretentious setting”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

A few blocks into a slightly ramshackle neighborhood is an old plantation side-building converted to a restaurant years ago. The setting is old but the food and service are top notch. My drum was outstanding and my companion's veal also excellent. Prices are quite reasonable. We lingered long over dessert and coffee in the courtyard.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ToniMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neworleansLA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Old New Orleans Atmosphere”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Set in time and dripping with southern charm, Feelings is a beautiful example of a restaurant that I hope never changes. I like the slightly retro menu that focuses on local dishes done honestly and with fresh ingredients. The food is well prepared and delicious. I usually get a fish dish and have never been disappointed. And the courtyard is the most beautiful in all of New Orleans. I keep expecting Blanche DuBois to appear at the next table. The hosts are attentive and the service is excellent. I like to bring out of town friends and family here because it is just so beautiful. It is in the Marigny and easily accessible on Franklin Street. You can linger over a glass of wine in the bar or walk over to Mimi's for after dinner drinks.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank whatzupneworleansLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Off the Beaten Path”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This Marigny restaurant with a romantic courtyard, a cozy piano bar and an understated dining room is a great special dinner spot. It is casual and friendly, and the food is well prepared. The barbequed shrimp is quite spicy, but better than in most NOLA restaurants. The fish entrees are very good and fresh. The staff is helpful and patient in explaining the menu and dealing with finicky eaters. The vegan menu is a plus.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hawkie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic venue!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Atmosphere, food, service. It is uber romantic! The staff is very particular to make your dining experience memorable, and they are big on romance!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank colleenmooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Feelings Cafe also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing