We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Family- like diner with good breakfast and friendly atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Camellia Grill

The Camellia Grill
Ranked #98 of 1,932 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Uptown / Carrollton
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“"Family- like diner with good breakfast and friendly atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The staff is very friendly and the service was quick. The menu offers many choices and the food is good! Although I did not have one- the omelettes look delicious!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank QueenCityGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    306
    75
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“you say camellia grill in NO, and everyone loses their minds! :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

i was up in new orleans recently visiting a friend, who insisted we visit camellia grill. if first impressions meant anything, i would have missed out on quite possibly the best burger/sandwich companion ever, the freeze. it is not a milkshake. it's not a glass of flavored milk. you just need to try it. i had the regular vanilla one (not boring at all), and i got to taste my friend's chocolate/cherry freeze, which was also incredible. the spicy chicken sandwich i had was alright, a little greasy, but it's to be expected. good taste, really nice staff, and really, they've been around this long for a reason. don't be discouraged by the looks of the place from the outside.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElCheleNica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Out of the past diner -- the place locals eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

So a local shopowner sent us to Camellia's after I pressed him for where he eats. He said its a dive. That is probably true but its a great dive with counter only seating that takes you back to the 1930s. The wait staff and cook are hilarious. Food is standard diner food (BLT, fries etc.). I rated this a 5 as it felt like we stepped back in history. If you don't want to eat here, stop for a freeze -- they were terrific!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuxNomadTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food was disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten here on several occasions when I've visited from ATL however today the chicken was hard and the pancakes overcooked.
My wife was greatly disappointed as well. It was her first visit. The service remains superlative.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Genghis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
639 reviews
372 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Great breakfast New Orleans style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was our last stop on our last day for breakfast back to the airport. As observed on other mornings you can expect a short wait, but well worth it as we had time. The food is delicious, and filling. Best put it is "classy dining-diner style". The quality, variety, and the value is above all breakfasts we had during our stay/ It was also inexpensive for breakfast and lunch menu as well. The friendly staff works very hard to get the food out quickly, the orders right, and uniquely delicious.Southern breakfast at its best.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Camellia Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Camellia Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing