We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant”

Brigtsen's Restaurant
Ranked #127 of 1,948 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Uptown / Carrollton
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
283 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We were staying in the French Quarter, so we had to take a cab to get to this restaurant. It was about 20 minutes away near the Mississippi River Levee in an old house converted into a restaurant. Nice place, but I felt a little cramped for space. Had a salad and red wine to start. I ordered the seafood platter: Swordfish, two baked oysters each done a different way, some shrimp, and a corn muffin that had seafood baked inside and more - all really great! Had the lemon crème brûlé - outstanding!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank benjaminwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    56
    28
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best meal in NOLA, a place where the locals eat”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I had a lot of great meals in NOLA, but Brigsten's was the best. It's a renovated house and the atmosphere is great. The service and food is even better though. The servers really know their stuff and were very nice/helpful about everything. The food really is second to none.

Appetizers
Butternut Shrimp Bisque - Clear French Influences and lives up to them all. Very unique and simply fantastic.

Fried Catfish - Really fantastic. It's surprisingly hard to get really good catfish, but this hits all the right notes.

Crawfish - The best I had in NOLA, and I had a ton.

Entrees
Fried whole Blue Softshell Crab - Not normally a crab person but wow did this deliver. You dont get a dish like this very many places, and it is simply a special dish to have.

Pork chop - The accompaniments were phenomenal and the flavor of the Pork was amazing, if just slightly overcooked.

Dessert
Pecan Pie - I travel to the South a lot and have had a ton of Pecan Pie in my life, but this was the best. Even though Pecan Pie is so ubiquitous in the South, Brigten's is tops.

Strawberry Shortcake - Expertly made and simply delicious, but all attention was on the pie.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoCalTraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Off the tourist path and better because of it”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Frank and his wife continue to exceed expectations with creative creole-styled creations that are unique and fabulous. On 5/24/14 I had the good fortune to be in the restaurant for dinner when they had a small supply of fresh softshell crabs.
Holy Cow, what a memorable dish and outstanding service as usual. Frank even came to our table to ask how we liked the crab. A chef/owner that is interested in every dish he prepares, is the best way I can describe Brigtsen's.
Highly recommended if you don't want to dine in the tourist traps.
Other dishes we dined on was the lamb shank and the fresh black drum. We were all very happy with our choices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bradbrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Went with my wife and our friends. Soft shell crab special was perfect. Two in our party had veal parm and loved it. Another had sea scallops and also enjoyed. Started with salads; very fresh, very big, delicious. Desserts were also very good; strawberry/blueberry shortcake and bread pudding at our table
Two cons; not spacious and a bit cramped as mentioned by others. Also, only one bathroom.
Service: very attentive and friendly
Strongly recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A well kept secret in New Orleans”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

It's my new favorite eating establishment in Nola. Get the seafood platter when you go! Everything is cooked to perfection. Real pecan pie to boot!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mfrankkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brigtsen's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Brigtsen's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing