We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Staff and Meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
Ranked #25 of 1,890 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Garden District
Description: Commander's Palace welcomes everyone but we do have a dress code. It's a festive atmosphere! Shorts are never allowed. Inventive modern New Orleans cooking coexists with our Haute Creole. Sense the team's professional grace clothed in the warmth of the Brennan Family's brand of hospitality. From your first sip of a Sazerac to your last crumb of bread pudding soufflé, we hope you are pampered and delighted...and go ahead be a little bad...that's what living in New Orleans is all about.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff and Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Upon arrival for a 12-day gastro vacation in the area, I made a dinner reservation from the hotel before even unpacking. They seemed to be able to accommodate last-minute reservations in the off season on a Monday, although I sense that simply showing up might not have been successful (my presumption is that Garden District venues get many more locals). As well, they prefer that gentlemen wear a jacket, but it is not required. However, given the high level of customer compliance, I would have felt out of place without one.

By comparison, all the good restaurants in the French Quarter didn’t require a mid-week reservation during my same trip. Some recommended Tuesday to Thursday as the least busy nights, and then things start to fill up fast as the conventioneers arrive and depart.

I had the seven-course “Chef’s Playground”, and they allowed me to substitute-in their famed bread pudding soufflé with whiskey sauce as the desert – it takes a while to prepare, so order it early. All the courses were sublime, especially memorable for me being the soft-shell crab. You should definitely spring for the wine pairing.

I could go on about the food, but I really must comment about the staff. They are as professional as what you’ll experience at the top-end restaurants in the French quarter, likely even more so. But what really set them apart was simply how down-to-earth, convivial and approachable they were, compared to some of the stiffer old-school staff who would serve you elsewhere. Even among the younger staff under training, you could see that they had that right “spark” and would go far in the business.

I never did check to see if they charged me extra for the desert upgrade because I simply didn’t care once I had tried it. If you ask on the way out, the front desk will give you the bread pudding soufflé recipe (and it’s in their cookbook). I will be going through a lot of dried leftover baguettes in the next few months, while trying to perfect it.

This restaurant should be on everyone’s Bucket List.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric107_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,744
    1,053
    505
    169
    86
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Our party of 6 (3 Couples) went to Commanders Palace during a trip to New Orleans. We got dressed up to experience this place that everyone raves about. I can see why! Our Server Lorenzo was amazing from the start. He was knowledgeable, funny and very charming. He was simply amazing - you *have* to ask for him. My husband had Quail - it was simply delicious. I had a steak that melted in my mouth! We were also treated to a tour of the Restaurant - I think we tricked them into thinking we were important! It's old school and traditional and I loved it. In this busy world of chain restaurants and fast food, it's nice to have a proper meal where the waiters escort the Ladies to the restroom and the Staff can surprise you with the perfect cocktail just by asking you a few questions.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim_Better_Thompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Went for our son birthday. It was fantastic. Never been greeted ever like this anywhere in any restaurant we have been. The food how it should have been. GREAT JOB

Helpful?
Thank Gilles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Simply The Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

This was the single best highlight of our recent trip to New Orleans!! From the moment you enter you are welcomed with open arms and gracious service!! The food was spectacular, the service was even more spectacular!!! We loved it and hated to leave!! I have been to New Orleans many times before and never eaten here and boy am I ever kicking myself for all those wasted trips now!!!
Go by all means go and you will be so very glad you did.
Shane was one of our 4 waiters ( yes 4) and he was wonderful!!!
One drawback is any other restaurant you will eat at in the future will pale in comparison to Commanders Palace!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LovetogoCalabasas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam F, Manager at Commander's Palace, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear "LovetogoCalabasas,"
Thank you for writing the lovely review about us! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed dining at Commander's Palace. We hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks,
Sam Fritz
Community Manager, Commander's Family of Restaurants
sam@commanderspalace.com

Posted: August 13, 2014
Atmosphere
Food
Service
Value
Simply The Best!
This was the single best highlight of our recent trip to New Orleans!! From the moment you enter you are welcomed with open arms and gracious service!! The food was spectacular, the service was even more spectacular!!! We loved it and hated to leave!! I have been to New Orleans many times before and never eaten here and boy am I ever kicking myself for all those wasted trips now!!!
Go by all means go and you will be so very glad you did.
Shane was one of our 4 waiters ( yes 4) and he was wonderful!!!
One drawback is any other restaurant you will eat at in the future will pale in comparison to Commanders Palace!!!

- by LovetogoCalabasas (Calabasas) on 8/12/14. Stay date: Aug 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
207 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Wonderful brunch, but they forgot the whiskey sauce for my bread pudding souffle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

This really is all our friends said it would be. We loved everything they served us and couldn't finish it all. Three courses of wonderful. Our friend also go the bread pudding souffle and they put the whiskey sauce on with a flair. I asked where mine was, and he gave me the leftovers from my friends sauce and said they'd bring more. They forgot, though I was asked about it as I left. No apology for forgetting, so only rated 4 of 5. It really is a quirky building, but special.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heff17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing