We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
Ranked #24 of 1,919 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Garden District
Description: Commander's Palace welcomes everyone but we do have a dress code. It's a festive atmosphere! Shorts are never allowed. Inventive modern New Orleans cooking coexists with our Haute Creole. Sense the team's professional grace clothed in the warmth of the Brennan Family's brand of hospitality. From your first sip of a Sazerac to your last crumb of bread pudding soufflé, we hope you are pampered and delighted...and go ahead be a little bad...that's what living in New Orleans is all about.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Went for our son birthday. It was fantastic. Never been greeted ever like this anywhere in any restaurant we have been. The food how it should have been. GREAT JOB

Helpful?
Thank Gilles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,918
    1,095
    521
    173
    90
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calabasas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Simply The Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

This was the single best highlight of our recent trip to New Orleans!! From the moment you enter you are welcomed with open arms and gracious service!! The food was spectacular, the service was even more spectacular!!! We loved it and hated to leave!! I have been to New Orleans many times before and never eaten here and boy am I ever kicking myself for all those wasted trips now!!!
Go by all means go and you will be so very glad you did.
Shane was one of our 4 waiters ( yes 4) and he was wonderful!!!
One drawback is any other restaurant you will eat at in the future will pale in comparison to Commanders Palace!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LovetogoCalabasas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam F, Manager at Commander's Palace, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear "LovetogoCalabasas,"
Thank you for writing the lovely review about us! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed dining at Commander's Palace. We hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks,
Sam Fritz
Community Manager, Commander's Family of Restaurants
sam@commanderspalace.com

Posted: August 13, 2014
Atmosphere
Food
Service
Value
Simply The Best!
This was the single best highlight of our recent trip to New Orleans!! From the moment you enter you are welcomed with open arms and gracious service!! The food was spectacular, the service was even more spectacular!!! We loved it and hated to leave!! I have been to New Orleans many times before and never eaten here and boy am I ever kicking myself for all those wasted trips now!!!
Go by all means go and you will be so very glad you did.
Shane was one of our 4 waiters ( yes 4) and he was wonderful!!!
One drawback is any other restaurant you will eat at in the future will pale in comparison to Commanders Palace!!!

- by LovetogoCalabasas (Calabasas) on 8/12/14. Stay date: Aug 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
207 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Wonderful brunch, but they forgot the whiskey sauce for my bread pudding souffle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

This really is all our friends said it would be. We loved everything they served us and couldn't finish it all. Three courses of wonderful. Our friend also go the bread pudding souffle and they put the whiskey sauce on with a flair. I asked where mine was, and he gave me the leftovers from my friends sauce and said they'd bring more. They forgot, though I was asked about it as I left. No apology for forgetting, so only rated 4 of 5. It really is a quirky building, but special.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heff17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawley, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Service at its best!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

The highlight of this restaurant is the wonderful staff that work here! Knowledgable, efficient, friendly.. By far the biggest price tag on our restaurant tour. Veal Chop-phenomenal! Exquisite wine list.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birthday Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

What is there to say thy hasn't been said already? Amazing meal, spectacular service and beautiful location. Turtle soup was so delicious that I just want to eat bowl after bowl. The tomato shrimp soup of the day was infused such delicious shrimp flavor that I wanted an never ending bowl. From the moment you walk in the staff makes you feel so welcome and our waiter Todd was beyond friendly and informative. He was very helpful in describing the dishes and helping you choose. I'm so happy to have finally been able to enjoy this wonderful place!

Helpful?
Thank Noemivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing