We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Service at its best!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
Ranked #23 of 1,872 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Garden District
Description: Commander's Palace welcomes everyone but we do have a dress code. It's a festive atmosphere! Shorts are never allowed. Inventive modern New Orleans cooking coexists with our Haute Creole. Sense the team's professional grace clothed in the warmth of the Brennan Family's brand of hospitality. From your first sip of a Sazerac to your last crumb of bread pudding soufflé, we hope you are pampered and delighted...and go ahead be a little bad...that's what living in New Orleans is all about.
Hawley, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Service at its best!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

The highlight of this restaurant is the wonderful staff that work here! Knowledgable, efficient, friendly.. By far the biggest price tag on our restaurant tour. Veal Chop-phenomenal! Exquisite wine list.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,635
    1,033
    492
    166
    84
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birthday Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

What is there to say thy hasn't been said already? Amazing meal, spectacular service and beautiful location. Turtle soup was so delicious that I just want to eat bowl after bowl. The tomato shrimp soup of the day was infused such delicious shrimp flavor that I wanted an never ending bowl. From the moment you walk in the staff makes you feel so welcome and our waiter Todd was beyond friendly and informative. He was very helpful in describing the dishes and helping you choose. I'm so happy to have finally been able to enjoy this wonderful place!

Helpful?
Thank Noemivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A NOLA classic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Went at Christmas time and enjoyed a great lunch as the carolers sang. Don't splurge, get every course, finish with the chocolate soufflé.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Txburkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Spectacular service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

If you're reading this, you're doing your homework and you know fine dining. Commander's Palace from the outside does not look like a fancy schmancy restaurant, in my opinion anyway - quirky and unique but does not echo fancy. But if you're doing your homework, know that this place has a dress code: no shorts, flip flops, t-shirts, sweat shirts/pants. That should cover any surprises that resulted in previous negative reviews. The service from start to end was courteous, respectful, and prompt.

My husband and I are not locals but we were in NOLA for a week and we like to eat and eat well, not exclusively 4/5 star restaurants but close. It was an anniversary dinner and it was noted on our reservation. CP made it special for us and it was as if everyone who served us made a note of congratulating us. Our dessert plates had written in chocolate "happy anniversary" on the rim.

Now for the food. We ordered the foie gras pain perdu. Amazing, highly recommend. My husband has consumed many foie gras over our years together and believed that this was by far the best. He got turtle soup and I the gumbo and we share everything. I wasn't blown away by the turtle soup (maybe it was the sherry) and I thought the gumbo had a strong barbeque influence which disappointed me a bit. I know every restaurant can have their own interpretation but I wanted CP's to be the best but instead it was just different. Husband ordered crispy soft shell crab and I lemon verbena roasted redfish. His crab was amazing - large, crispy yet tender, and flavorful. I was a little disappointed in my redfish because the sauce did not taste anything like lemon verbena but more of a courtbouillon that was a little salty to me. But the fish itself was moist with generous amounts of crab on top. We ordered the bread pudding souffle and pecan pie, both of which were delicious.

Overall, I would recommend CP and would return if we were ever to visit NOLA again. I only gave 4 stars because I am a little spoiled as a fine diner, and to receive 5 stars would have to be spectacular in every dish. CP would still be listed as a place I will remember because they were a part of our anniversary celebration and made it special for us.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frazers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best place ever - Can I give it a 10?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

We loved Comander's Palace. Order the fancy bread pudding when you order your meal because it takes 45 minutes to cook! The blackened fish is supurb. The turtle soup - yum yum! Celebrate a special anniversary or birthday. Worth the money!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Textraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing