We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still Great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
Ranked #24 of 1,918 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Garden District
Description: Commander's Palace welcomes everyone but we do have a dress code. It's a festive atmosphere! Shorts are never allowed. Inventive modern New Orleans cooking coexists with our Haute Creole. Sense the team's professional grace clothed in the warmth of the Brennan Family's brand of hospitality. From your first sip of a Sazerac to your last crumb of bread pudding soufflé, we hope you are pampered and delighted...and go ahead be a little bad...that's what living in New Orleans is all about.
Georgetown
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Still Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Third time here and still excellent. The 3 course luncheon special WAS special. The main course was the lacquered quail--perfectly prepared and yummy, The Creole bread pudding souffle was to die for. (They share the recipe.) Of course the 25 cent martinis are worth every penny (and more)...!

Service of course was impeccable, although the synchronicity of the entree delivery was not as impressive. But then our party of ten was not seated at a round table!

I will return my next visit to NOLA.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,909
    1,092
    520
    173
    90
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best meal in New Orleans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the Commander's Palace! The food was great and the service was great, too. We ate in the Garden Room which was beautiful. It was so interesting how all of the servers deliver the food at the table to each person all at the same time. We will go back here when in New Orleans again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Solid but way too hyped”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was a great meal but for the hype I frankly expected more. The service was solid and the menu was great. I think it is one of those rare restaurants where you feel like you should almost expect perfection.

I would recommend this to anyone though.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Italianjew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I suppose I would split this review between the food and the service.

Starting out with the stronger of the two, the food, I would probably give it 3/5. It was pretty typically American, overly sweet for our tastes but that is fairly standard. The starter was amazing, gumbo soup - best bit of the whole meal really. The main was quail, but it was sweet enough to be a dessert as far as I could tell - very average. Then the dessert was OK. For the price - a little below average would be my opinion.

Then, the service. Almost nothing short of disgraceful, frankly. We asked for a recommendation of wine and tasted it, but it was not quite what we were after. We proceeded to try another two, before settling on a bottle of one. The waiter's attitude when we didnt like his first choice just went straight down hill and remained poor throughout the whole meal.

Even things like trying to attract the waiter's attention became a chore. I do not expect this in a restaurant of this supposed quality. It was a real let down.

Following this I raised my concerns with management and left my contact details, but never received so much as an apology. I provided further constructive feedback to them through their website form but again did not receive any response.

I will not be returning!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday Girl”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband took me to Commander's Palace for Sunday Brunch this past weekend for my Birthday and it was wonderful! Even tho we live in Baton Rouge, only 60 miles away, it was my first time there. I'd heard about them all my life, but somehow had never been. It is just what I had envisioned. Perfect N.O. atmosphere, great food and service with a mingling jazz band! Awesome!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PamKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing