We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Always the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
Ranked #14 of 1,835 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Garden District
Description: Commander's Palace welcomes everyone but we do have a dress code. It's a festive atmosphere! Shorts are never allowed. Inventive modern New Orleans cooking coexists with our Haute Creole. Sense the team's professional grace clothed in the warmth of the Brennan Family's brand of hospitality. From your first sip of a Sazerac to your last crumb of bread pudding soufflé, we hope you are pampered and delighted...and go ahead be a little bad...that's what living in New Orleans is all about.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Always the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

It's hard to write what has not already been said but I cannot think of many other restaurants that have such consistently excellent service and food. The restaurant is very fairly priced and every meal I have had there is memorable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Loungesong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,355
    959
    453
    153
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our tour guide arranged for a group lunch after a garden district tour and it was an amazing experience. We had a sampling of many different dishes that included their turtle soup and bread pudding. Our guide and the Commander Palace staff treated us incredibly well and it was truly one of our trip highlights

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maddyChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam F, Manager at Commander's Palace, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. We're so happy you enjoyed your trip to Commander's Palace. Please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Just as splendid as my memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

One of several restaurants I wouldn't miss on a visit to New Orleans. Favourite dishes this time - the shrimp and tasso starter, the justly famed turtle soup, the pecan crusted gulf fish. We couldn't resist the bread pudding and were glad we didn't. Our friend declared the Commander's was as fine as anywhere he'd dined in Paris.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okla.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch after the Garden Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had the perfect lunch after the Garden Dist Tour which was fun also. This place made the tour, the food and service was exceptional. The waiter explained all the dishes and cocktails. Food was wonderful and staff was absolutely perfect. They even serve from the left and don’t reach over without permission. Not sure of the cost because it was rolled up into the tour price. Best Watermelon Martini in the world. Best bread pudding soufflé.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Warmdesertrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not a Tourist Trap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Visited for Sunday Brunch. I was expecting a tourist trap and could not be more wrong. The service was over the top excellent. Presentation and fantastic and everything tasted as good as it looked. There were a lot of regulars dining when we visited. I Will return for lunch and dinner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RaoulAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing