We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was exquisite.”
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
Ranked #30 of 1,964 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Garden District
Description: Commander's Palace welcomes everyone but we do have a dress code. It's a festive atmosphere! Shorts are never allowed. Inventive modern New Orleans cooking coexists with our Haute Creole. Sense the team's professional grace clothed in the warmth of the Brennan Family's brand of hospitality. From your first sip of a Sazerac to your last crumb of bread pudding soufflé, we hope you are pampered and delighted...and go ahead be a little bad...that's what living in New Orleans is all about.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service was exquisite.”
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We had Sunday brunch here during a recent visit to Nola. The food was delicious. The cocktails were splendid. The wait staff was so courteous and available. They have a pre-set 3 course menu which for the price was not that expensive. We sat in the garden room which was really beautiful. They have a 3 piece jazz band which comes to each table to play. It was just a lovely brunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa32490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,281
    1,172
    563
    187
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Jazz brunch”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Surpassed all of my expectations. Delicious food, Impeccable service in a beautiful Home and location.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank janetn56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“an elegant good time!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Five of us had a great Friday afternoon lunch on a recent visit to NOLA. Went for the .25 cent martini's will go back for the food and dining experience. Exceptional all around-service, food, ambiance--the shrimp and grits was incredible. Keep in mind men must wear slacks-no shorts, and a reservation will guarentee you don't have to wait an hour or more for a table--but if you don't have a reservation, put your name on the list and stroll the garden district to pass the time--it is soooo worth it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zenmaster2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Service in New Orleans and the Food is Excellent”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We visited New Orleans with friends and had lunch at the Commander's Palace. The service was outstanding and the food was excellent (the 25 cent martini's didn't hurt). We were so impressed with the entire experience that we moved our scheduled 45th wedding anniversary dinner with friends later in our vacation from another restaurant to the Commander's Palace and we weren't disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unbelievably Fantastic!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

If you are questioning whether it's worth the money, don't even give it a second thought. It's probably worth twice as much. We were unable to get dinner reservations. So we opted for lunch and was treated as a king and queen. From the time you walk in the door, the welcome is astounding. Then we were led through the kitchen which was pristine and beautiful. I would have been happy to have had a table there. Then the food - to die for! I had turtle shoup and shrimp and grits - excellent. My husband had gumbo and the pork dish which was equally excellent. 25 cent martinis? Really? We had the three limit. But then my favorite (as always) - dessert. The Bread Pudding Souffle is just indescribable. Words can't say how good it was. Service over the top. All for $76.00 before tip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vetten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing