We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic NOLA!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
Ranked #23 of 1,919 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Garden District
Description: Commander's Palace welcomes everyone but we do have a dress code. It's a festive atmosphere! Shorts are never allowed. Inventive modern New Orleans cooking coexists with our Haute Creole. Sense the team's professional grace clothed in the warmth of the Brennan Family's brand of hospitality. From your first sip of a Sazerac to your last crumb of bread pudding soufflé, we hope you are pampered and delighted...and go ahead be a little bad...that's what living in New Orleans is all about.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
269 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Classic NOLA!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I wanted to ding them for getting snarky when I asked to move, after they sat us 3 feet from the restrooms in the parlor room. However, the food speaks for itself and it was delicious. We had the tasting menu with wine pairings and it could not have been better. Everything we had was heaven, including the strawberry shortcake (a must!). Our server, food, and wine were impeccable. I will definitely be back! Rumor has it they offer, .25 cent martinis during lunch and a Sunday jazz brunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,806 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,923
    1,095
    522
    174
    92
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Memorable Sunday brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This restaurant was the highlight of my trip. Four of us enjoyed Sunday brunch in a sunny upstairs room surrounded by tall trees. We thoroughly enjoyed the jazz band and excellent food and service. Since we found it impossible to choose from among the soups, the waiter offered to bring us the three-soup sampler. The pecan crusted fish with Ponchatrain sauce was exactly as I remembered it from years ago, and the bread pudding souffle--wonderful! Wouldn't have changed a thing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flatworld71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We've travelled extensively but agree that Commander's Palace is by far our favorite restaurant amongst all the places we've visited. We make sure to come here every time we are in New Orleans. Brunch is a fun and delicious experience..don't miss it. Also, the creole cheesecake is excellent!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbirds0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Martinis for a quarter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Commander's Palace offers 4 kinds of martinis for a quarter at lunch. It appeared that many of those present in this huge restaurant had several based on the laughter and fun folks were having. It also offers price fixes for two items and three items, plus alacarte. We did one three item price fix and a two item price fix. We shared the turtle soup, which was excellent. My wife had the crusted drum fish and I had the short ribs. They were both fantastic! We had a strawberry shortcake like dessert, which was also excellent. We took the trolley out to the Garden District where the restaurant is located, and walked around this beautiful neighborhood afterwards. The whole experience was a wonderful diversion from the French Quarter.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edwin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
166 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“The best of the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

A trip to commanders Palace is NOLA at its finest. Impeccable ,friendly service. Great dining,especially upstairs and magnificent choices. I was particularly impressed that it was so unlike a tourist type dining experience. Filet mignon and their special salmon entree was the best ever. Without a doubt on of the very best dining experiences I have had across the states!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing