We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Traditionally glorious...Commander's Palace.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
Ranked #14 of 1,837 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Garden District
Description: Commander's Palace welcomes everyone but we do have a dress code. It's a festive atmosphere! Shorts are never allowed. Inventive modern New Orleans cooking coexists with our Haute Creole. Sense the team's professional grace clothed in the warmth of the Brennan Family's brand of hospitality. From your first sip of a Sazerac to your last crumb of bread pudding soufflé, we hope you are pampered and delighted...and go ahead be a little bad...that's what living in New Orleans is all about.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Traditionally glorious...Commander's Palace.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Graciousness defines the experience at this palace of sensual delights. From the warmth of the initial greeting to the unobtrusive attentiveness of the wait-staff, one really is treated as a valued guest. The rich panoply of high-end New Orleans cuisine leaves a person with some impossible to resolve dilemmas; the solution is straight-forward: chose several ! Intensely complex turtle soup reveals layer upon layer of flavors set off by the added sherry accents. Commander's roumalarde graces glistening fresh gulf shrimp. A Bloody Mary arrives at the table without vodka; almost immediately a server arrives with a bottle of vodka frozen in a block of ice, from which he adds the icy vodka to the drink....mmmm. Main dishes vary almost daily and are often sourced from current seasonal sources. I just don't have enough adjectives for the dessert selections...and the strolling musical combos who take requests from the diners, or play New Orleans classics. This is not simply a fine restaurant, it is an enriching life experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,014 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,367
    963
    454
    153
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious, great for lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Delicious, great service, and reasonably priced. What? Did I say reasonably priced? Yes. Monday through Friday lunch at Commanders Palace is reasonably priced. A two course lunch plus two Martinis...$16.50. Martinis are $0.25 each. That's a quarter per martini, up to 3 per person.
The menu is diverse, the waitstaff is friendly and courteous and perhaps most importantly, the food is really delicious. Your opportunity to enjoy one of Americas top 25 restaurants at a reasonable price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stew345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had dinner here a few nights ago with friends. All four of us were extremely pleased with the service, and especially with the food. Certainly one of the best restaurant meals I have ever had. Should I get back to NOLA, I'll return here, without a doubt.

Our waiter was a kick....funny, but very professional at the same time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank geezerbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Classic dining in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Commanders exemplifies New Orleans dining. Service was impeccable. The pork belly appetizer is phenomenal. It is rich slow roasted thick bacon that melts in your mouth. Pecan encrusted fish is delicious. Bread pudding soufflé is a must, even if you are not a dessert fan. Our table overlooked the garden and it was lovely. Wine list is extensive. Our favorite restaurant in the U.S.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank provomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
109 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great lunch experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We finally made it to Commanders Palace after many trips to New Orleans, so I am familiar with the cuisine. Every dish was extremely well made and presented, with intense flavors wherever possible. Pricy, but worth it. There are 25 cent martinis for lunch, and they are not watered down. Limit 3. My wife had the gumbo, I had turtle soup. The roux in the gumbo was very nutty without any burnt character. The turtle soup had a tang from the sherry they pour in right as it is served. The braised short ribs, very tender, very well browned. The bread pudding souffle was very light, almost like a meringue with bits of bread pudding throughout.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ALChemProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing