We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Commander's Palace

Commander's Palace
1403 Washington Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)
+1 504-899-8221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 1,839 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Garden District
Description: Commander's Palace welcomes everyone but we do have a dress code. It's a festive atmosphere! Shorts are never allowed. Inventive modern New Orleans cooking coexists with our Haute Creole. Sense the team's professional grace clothed in the warmth of the Brennan Family's brand of hospitality. From your first sip of a Sazerac to your last crumb of bread pudding soufflé, we hope you are pampered and delighted...and go ahead be a little bad...that's what living in New Orleans is all about.
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had a wonderful evening at Commander's Palace. The soup du jour was a shrimp chirizo bisque, and I think it was the best soup I've ever had. I didn't know soup could melt in your mouth. The service was very personalized. Food was very good. Overall, a very special evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RebBradAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,890 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,276
    941
    444
    153
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
120 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Jazz brunch enjoyed by all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Six family members went to the Jazz Brunch, enjoyed great drinks, very attentive service, wonderful entrees and my husband said it was the best strawberry shortcake he's ever eaten. The music was fabulous, the atmosphere is just about perfect.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pip18Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“still excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

well established resturant and still greeat. Went there with my wife. all the dishes we had were excellent. Waiter made a wine recommendation that was a good choice and fairly priced.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We a wonderful had lunch here. The food was absolutely fantastic. The citrus salad was the best salad I have ever had in my life. Our server, Todd, was delightful and clearly enthusiastic about food.

Helpful?
1 Thank sarita888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolis, Illinois
Level Contributor
174 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We ate lunch here while on a self-guided walking tour of the beautiful garden district. We were given a jingle bell to wear around our necks for the holidays. They also had Christmas carolers as well to serenade us while we ate lunch. I had shrimp and grits which were wonderful. I hesitantly tried the turle soup and was pleasantly surprised as it was really good. The service was top notch and we were guided through their kitchen as we were taken to our table. I tried some of my husband's bread pudding souffle with whiskey sauce and I highly recommend it. If you order an entree for lunch, you are able to order up to three martinis for 25 cents each. They had several to choose from. This was quite an experience.
The only drawback was that it was really noisy in the dining room and I had a difficult time carrying on a conversation. This was due to the fact that there were several large tables with many of the guests talking rather loudly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jlcarter1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander's Palace also viewed

 

Been to Commander's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing